Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Maps & Atlases @ Pitt Archives: Introduction

Tips for using the maps and atlases available in Archives & Special Collections

Useful Links

Welcome

This guide describes the various maps and atlases in the Archives & Special Collections, many of which are also available online. The main geographic foci of our cartographic collections are the Pittsburgh Metropolitan Area and the local tri-state region of western Pennsylvania, eastern Ohio and northern West Virginia. Topics covered include, but are not limited to, early exploration and westward expansion, military defense, municipal evolution, industry and transportation. These materials range in date from the 16th century through the 20th century and present an enlightening view of the political and economic development of this region. For example, the circa 1910 map below shows the line of a proposed subway from Wilkinsburg to Beltzhoover.

For more information, click here to contact us.

  Map of Pittsburgh and vicinity, showing the location of the proposed subway with terminal points in
 Wilkinsburg and McKinley Park, circa 1910. Archives of Industrial Society (AIS) Assorted Maps and
         Atlases, 1830-1990, AIS.Maps, Folder 3, Archives & Special Collections, University of Pittsburgh Library System.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                          

                                                             

Archives & Special Collections

David Grinnell's picture
David Grinnell
Contact:
Archives & Special Collections

7500 Thomas Boulevard

412-648-3243
412-648-3243
Subjects:Archives