Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Microforms @ Pitt

This is a guide for finding and using the microforms collection in the University Library System.

Microforms Subjects

The documents available via microformat cover a wide range of subjects and content types. Please see the guides below for additional information about some of these subjects. 

Mircroforms Holdings

The documents below list titles available in our collections but which do not appear in PITTCat. While the documents state these titles are at Hillman Library, they are actually at the Archives Service Center. Please email our microforms team for assistance in viewing these titles. 

Popular Collections

Papers of the NAACP on Microfilm

As the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization, the NAACP produced papers documenting a century of civil rights activism. The University Library System's collection of Papers of the NAACP contains several sections, including, but not limited to, personal correspondence, staff files, and campaign information. 

Opie Microfiche Collection

The Opie microfiche is a collection of children's literature began by Peter and Iona Opie in 1944. Over the next forty-four years the collection grew to nearly 20,000 titles, including chapbooks, battledores (two or three-page primers), card-covered toy books, comics, children's magazines, penny dreadfuls and bound volumes. Some titles are individually cataloged. 

Underground Newspaper Collection

Spanning 476 reels of film, the Underground Newspaper Collection is a compilation of hundreds of alternative publications produced from 1963-1985. A major example of sixties and seventies counterculture, the collection contains various newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and bulletins concentrating on a variety of topics ranging from Vietnam War protests to vegetarianism.