Call Number: f PQ6338 .A1 2015 (Spanish / Español)
Publication Date: 2015
Issued in clamshell case with clasp; numbered and signed notarized certificate of authenticity mounted inside bottom of case.
This two volume set was produced to commemorate the fourth centenary of the death of Cervantes. The paper bound facsimile volume consists of twelve holographic facsimiles of Cervantes’ correspondence reproduced on heavy paper. Facsimile volume is accompanied by a text volume (hardback) containing the transcription of the reproduced documents as well as extensive description of the orthography and paleography of this time period as well as an analysis of Cervantes’ handwriting by expert graphologists.
Facsimile volume has 12 facsimiles (some folded) secured on each page with tabs.
Portrait is on lining paper on the inside front of the case.
Published on the occasion of the visit of the International American Congress to Pittsburgh. "Este libro publicado y originado por Norton G. Chandler." "Las illustraciones en este libro por fotografiÌas tomadas por W.S. Bell, de Pittsburg, Pa., E.U. de A. / The illustrations in this book from photographs taken by W.S. Bell, of Pittsburg, Pa., U.S.A." Bound in blue velvet lining inlaid with "Pittsburg, Pa." in metal lettering and stored in cloth-lined box.
This beautifully illustrated book was published on the occasion of the visit to Pittsburgh in late 1889 by delegates participating in the International American Congress. The Notes present a remarkable account of the national and international business, banking and industries of the city of Pittsburgh at the end of the 1800s. In his book “Congreso Internacional Americano Pittsburgh. Trip of the Delegates. Objectives of the Congress” (New York City Press Asscociation, 1890), Charles A. O’Rourke described the Congress as the “the most important event of the hemisphere this year.” He also noted that “the most eminent men of the Western Continent met for the conference.”
For Hispanic Heritage Month we are looking at the impact an 1889 visit of Latin American delegates had on Pittsburgh’s industry and the way we promote the region today. This post was written by Zach Brodt, University Archivist.
Thomas W. Walker collection on Nicaraguan Politics, 1970s-1990s
The collection consists of materials related to Nicaraguan politics in general and the Nicaraguan revolution in particular collected from the mid-1970s through 1990. It includes correspondence, newspapers clippings, documents related to the literacy and post literacy process, Christians in the revolution, human rights reports, posters from the 1990 election, and more ephemera.
These manuscripts include two poems and two essays. Specifically, the manuscripts are El otro tigre (The Other Tiger), La nadería de la personalidad (The Nothingness of Personality), Poema conjetural (Conjectural Poem), and Anotación al 23 de agosto de 1944 (Annotation to the 23rd of August of 1944). In March of 2018, the ULS acquired the Cuaderno Avon (Avon notebook) and several loose accompanying pages (Páginas sueltas), which included the story La espera (The Wait) and notes for El escritor argentine y la tradición (The Argentine Writer and Tradition).
Jorge Luis Borges was born on August 24, 1899 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and died on June 14, 1986 in Geneva, Switzerland. He was a short-story writer, essayist, poet and translator, and is considered one of the foremost literary figures of the 20th century.
Cuaderno Avon - Jorge Luis Borges Notebook, 1950-1951
Cuaderno Avon is a spiral notebook containing 26 pages with the “Avon” brand on the cover, which contains original autograph manuscripts by the Argentinean writer Jorge Luis Borges. A working manuscript of the narrative La espera later included in El Aleph (1952), a book of short stories from the author, is included in this collection. The contents also include notes and early versions of the essay El escritor argentino y la tradición, notes for a series of lectures on police fiction, a fragmented poem, a brief fragment about Montalvo and the Quixote of Avellaneda, and some final notes inside the back cover of the notebook.
Ramón Gómez de la Serna was a prolific Spanish poet, novelist, and essayist, who is especially known for creating a new literary genre he named the "greguería." His works significantly influenced the avant-garde movement in Europe and Latin America. His personal papers consist of approximately 60,000 handwritten notes and manuscripts, clippings, photographs, and annotated first editions from his library from 1906-1967. Digital reproductions of portions of the collection are available online.
The Special Collections Department at the University of Pittsburgh's Library System celebrated the online accessibility of a majority of the Papers of Ramón Gómez de la Serna with an exhibit of selected manuscripts and photographs.
RAMÓN: The Papers of Ramón Gómez de la Serna at the University of Pittsburgh
Exhibition Fall 2013
University of Pittsburgh Library System - Special Collections Department
363 Hillman Library - Pittsburgh, PA 15260
The collection primarily consists of political analyses by Julio Elizalde written between 1972 and 2007. These writings heavily focus on current events of the time, specifically regarding U.S. foreign relations. The collection also contains personal accounts from Elizalde himself, in which he claims supposed ties to the government.
Alberto Britos Serrat Scrapbook on Nicolás Guillén Visit to Uruguay. The collection contains a scrapbook created by Alberto Britos Serrat (1915-1999), a Uruguayan journalist and writer, about Nicolás Guillén's visit to Uruguay in 1947. The collection consists of approximately 130 items including newspaper clippings about Guillén, published poems, typed and handwritten notes, journal issues, photographs, and clippings.
Rankin Johnson was a civil engineer who built railroads in Mexico and Bolivia and later headed a transit company in Trenton, New Jersey. Later in his life, Johnson gained prominence in the field of transit for his innovative use of publicity (1917), total conversion from trolleys to buses (1934), and control of bus traffic by supervisors stationed at sidewalk telephones (1939). The collection includes correspondence, photographs, letterbook, cables (coded and clear text), notes, speeches and memoranda relating to Rankin Johnson's career as engineer for the Mexican International Railroad and the Bolivia Railway Co.; major correspondents include James Metcalfe, Henry Ruhlender, James Speyer, Henry Burnett, and Herbert Knox Smith.
Photographs include shots of flora, fauna, native Indians, urban and countryside, rubber plantation, Balsa log floating, railroad construction principally for Bolivia but also including Peru; contains two photo albums labeled "Bolivia To-Day--1908."