Guides: Finding Data: Political Science

Public Opinion

Pew Research Center
Generates polls, reports & statistics covering global attitudes, politics, religion and social trends

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover a range of topics.

American National Election Studies (ANES)
Primary source for public opinion on elections, political participation, characteristics of voters, and for whom they voted, 1948-2008. It also provides summary data on social, economic, partisanship, and public opinion, 1948 to present.
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
A collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies.

Correlates of War
Quantitative data project for topics in International Relations including militarized disputes, war, and territorial changes.

Cross National Time Series Data (CNTS) Archive This link opens in a new window
The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945).

ICPSR Conflict, Aggression, Violence, Wars
(Pitt users only) The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains a data archive of research in social sciences, with 63 studies conducted covering conflict, aggression, violence and/or war.
International Crisis Behavior Project
Data on 455 international crises, 35 protracted conflicts, and 1000 crisis actors from 1918-2013.
START Data Collections
The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism maintains 19 data collections covering terrorism, public opinion, predictors of activism and radicalism and other topics.
Uppsala Conflict Data Program
The UCDP continually collects data on armed conflict.