Guides: Finding Data: Biology/Life Sciences

Life Sciences

DIRECTORIES

Ecological Society of America Data Registry
Describes data sets on ecology and the environment that are associated with articles published in Ecological Society of America (ESA) journals. Also searchable through the Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity.
Online Bioinformatics Resources Collection (OBRC)
Search or browse over 2,000 annotations with links to bioinformatics databases and software tools. From the University of Pittsburgh Health Science Library System.

REPOSITORIES

DNA Data Bank of Japan (DDBJ)
Open access nucleotide sequence data. Part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration (INSDC).
DRYAD
General purpose repository for data underlying scientific and medical publications, historically with a concentration in life sciences.
Environmental Information Data Centre (EIDC)
Covers terrestrial and freshwater science. Licensing may apply. Hosted by the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH), part of the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) in the UK.
European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)
Open access to a wide variety of data sets covering nucleotides, gene expression, proteins, molecular and cellular structures, interactions and pathways, chemical biology, ontologies, and computational models. Part of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory.
Expression Atlas
Information on gene expression patterns under different biological conditions, such as different cell types, organism parts, or diseases.
genenames.org (HUGO Gene Nomenclature Committee)
Curated repository of HGNC approved gene names and symbols, gene families, and links to related genomic, proteomic, and phenotypic information.
Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB)
International environmental and ecological data sets. KNB is a DataONE Member Node.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Provides access to a variety of sources for biomedical, genomic, and proteomic data, including: Conserved Domain Database (CDD), GenBank, Gene, Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP), and more.
Morphbank :: Biological Imaging
Open repository with more than 216,000 public images of more than 4,500 species. Creative Commons licenses or public domain designation vary with the image.
NBN Gateway
U.K. biodiversity data from the National Biodiversitiy Network and contributed by a wide variety of providers. Access and licensing vary with the data set and provider.
UniProt (The Universal Protein Resource)
Collection of databases that provide a comprehensive source for protein sequence and annotation data, including a repository for metagenomics and environmental data.
WormBase
Data on the genetics, genomics, and biology of C. elegans and some related nematodes.

REPOSITORIES RECOMMENDED BY JOURNALS OR SCHOLARLY SOCIETIES

These journals list repositories that meet the journal's or society's criteria for maintaining data associated with articles they publish - e.g., repository stability, active management, issuing DOIs, etc.

Biodiversity Data Journal
Data publication. Guidelines for best practice in publishing data, including recommended repositories for specific types of data.
Ecological Applications
Data policy. Includes repositories recommended by the Ecological Society of America for data associated with articles in any of its journals.
F1000Research
Data Guidelines.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Finding Data

Life Sciences