Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

Cartonera

Learn about the innovative production model, Cartonera, and opportunities Pitt provides to read, create, design, and share hand-crafted books!

PanteraCartonera@Pitt

 

PanteraCartonera@PITT

  • Promotes the stories and philosophies of the global Cartonera movement
  • Presents new model for books to enter culture, including creators and contents that may not have access through traditional publishing
  • Promotes ways in which language, social studies, and science can be fostered using imagination and creativity
  • Offers customized workshops for teachers, students, parents, children and the community at large
  • Books produced are the property of the creators, with design, production, and sharing done by the creator with guidance and support from PC@P

  • Promueve las historias y filosofías del movimiento Cartonera mundial
  • Presenta un nuevo modelo para que los libros ingresen a la cultura, incluidos los creadores y los contenidos que pueden no tener acceso a través de la edición tradicional
  • Promueve formas en que se pueden fomentar el lenguaje, los estudios sociales y la ciencia usando la imaginación y la creatividad.
  • Ofrece talleres personalizados para maestros, estudiantes, padres, niños y la comunidad en general
  • Los libros producidos son propiedad de los creadores, con el diseño, la producción con la guía y el apoyo de PC@P

The goal of PanteraCartonera is to offer opportunities for participants to learn new skills such as design, develop, and use their creative expression in making their own books.

Nuestro objetivo es ofrecer una oportunidad para que los participantes aprendan nuevas habilidades, como diseñar, desarrollar y usar su expresión creativa para hacer sus propios libros.

CARTONERAS at the University of Pittsburgh Library Systen (ULS) / Cartoneras en el Sistema de Bibliotecas de Pitt

                                                  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With a growing collection of 150 Cartonera books from eight Latin American countries, two from Europe (Spain & Portugal), and one from Africa (Mozambique), the University Library System (ULS) at Pitt Archives & Special Collections has collected a wide variety of Cartonera books with diverse content.  Included are narratives, essays, poems, translations, and a range of artistic techniques such as covers wrapped in hand-painted craft paper, string attached to binding,  and decorative endpapers.   

 

CARTONERAS en el Sistema de Bibliotecas de la Universidad de Pittsburgh (ULS)

Con una colección creciente de 150 libros de Cartonera de ocho países latinoamericanos, dos de Europa (España y Portugal) y uno de África (Mozambique), el Sistema de Bibliotecas Universitarias (ULS) en Pitt ha recopilado una amplia variedad de libros de Cartonera con diversos contenidos –narrativa, ensayos, traducciones al español de poemas portugueses- y diferentes diseños artísticos -cubiertas envueltas en artesanía pintada a mano, cordel atado a la encuadernación, guardas decorativas–.

Access Cartoneras in Archives & Special Collections / Acceso a Cartoneras en Archivos y Colecciones Especiales

Archives & Special Collections is one of the largest archives that documents Western Pennsylvania history.  Our collections contain historic documents, photographs, maps, rare books, newspapers, audio and video recordings and more on African American history, the environment, labor, philosophy, politics, and LGBTQIA+ and women's history, among many other subject areas.

Please contact us to learn more about our collections or to schedule an appointment for a consultation or to view materials.