When the Cartonera phenomenon expanded throughout Latin America, various libraries with Latin American collections in the US started collecting Cartonera books. The acquisition process poses several challenges including the limited runs and the untraditional channels of distribution:

• The distribution process often includes an informal network of vendors; creators/authors selling their books on the streets; exchanging them for other books or goods; distributing them during poetry or literary readings.  

• The cartonera books are produced on limited runs reducing the chances for acquisition.  

Cuando el fenómeno de cartonera se expandió por toda América Latina, varias bibliotecas con colecciones latinoamericanas en los Estados Unidos comenzaron a coleccionar libros cartoneros. El proceso de adquisición plantea varios desafíos, incluyendo las tiradas limitadas y los canales de distribución no tradicionales:

• El proceso de distribución a menudo incluye una red informal de vendedores; creadores/autores vendiendo sus libros en la calle; intercambiándolos por otros libros o bienes; distribuyéndolos durante lecturas de poesía o encuentros literarios.
• Los libros cartoneros se producen en tiradas limitadas reduciendo las posibilidades de adquisición.

UW-Madison’s Ibero-American collection holds the largest and most comprehensive cartonera collections in the U.S.

Paloma Celis Carbajal, the former Bibliographer for Ibero-American Studies and Romance Languages at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, founded and developed the most comprehensive cartonera book collection and created the Cartonera Publishers Database.

Currently, Paloma serves as the Curator for Latin American, Iberian and Latino Studies Collections in The New York Public Library.  

With a growing collection of more than 1,950 volumes representing over 75 different cartonera publishers, UW-Madison’s Ibero-American collection holds the largest and most comprehensive cartonera collections in the U.S. The Publishers represented in the collection are located in over 20 countries across the Americas, Europe, Africa, and Asia.

La colección iberoamericana de UW-Madison tiene las colecciones de cartoneras más grandes y completas de los Estados Unidos.

Paloma Celis Carbajal, anterior bibliógrafa de estudios iberoamericanos y lenguas romances de la Universidad de Wisconsin-Madison, fundó y desarrolló la colección de libros cartonera más completa y creó la base de datos de editores de cartonera. Actualmente, Paloma se desempeña como curadora de las colecciones de estudios latinoamericanos, ibéricos y latinos en Biblioteca Publica de Nueva York.

Con una colección creciente de más de 1,950 volúmenes que representan a más de 75 editoriales de cartoneras diferentes, la colección iberoamericana de UW-Madison tiene las colecciones de cartoneras más grandes y completas de los Estados Unidos. Las editoriales representadas en la colección se encuentran en más de 20 países de América. Europa, África y Asia.