Guides: Doing Business Abroad @ Pitt: Company Research

Company Profiles and Histories

first page of a mergent company profile

There are many places you can find information about a company and its history. Try the following approaches:

Company's website
- Websites often include an "about us" section that sometimes detail their history. Remember, the company will explain its history the way it wants to be seen.
Annual report
- Public companies are required to file an annual report to the U.S. government, known as a 10-K. These reports will often include a section on the company's history. Again, remember this is a self-reported history.
Find books/ebooks that contain corporate histories
- Books about a company often include historical background.
- Do a keyword search in PittCat to find any books in the University Library System which cover your company's history.
Search for articles
- Newspaper, trade/magazine, and scholarly articles that mention or are about specific companies might provide some historical information.

Accompanying image is from a company report in the Mergent Online database.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is made up of company profiles.
1. In the Company Search bar, type in your company. (Note: if it is a private company, select the D&B Private Company Database box above).
2. To find the company history, start in the Company Details tab, and select the History sub-tab.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic, it contains company profiles and articles.
1. On the homepage, under Discover topics select Business
2. Select Company Dossier. Search for the company by name or ticker.
3. Select the correct company, and once in the dossier, navigate throughout using the menu on the left.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ provides very rich company profiles, specifically on financials and people.
NOTE: Please review the FAQ for information on terminal/workstation access in the library and individual accounts.
1. Search for your company in the main search box
2. Once in the company's report, navigate using the menu on the left
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Mergent Archives is best for historical information on companies.
1. To enter the database, click the Search Mergent Archives link on the right.
2. Use the tabs on the top right to search for the company either in the corporate manuals, annual reports, industry reports, equity reports, or ratios sections of the database, depending on what you are after.
Note: To find company histories, you'll likely want to focus on the corporate manuals or the annual reports.

Although it might take some digging and persistence, searching for articles that refer to your company can prove helpful. Try the below databases, along with Google and Google Scholar.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1. Type in your company in the first search box. You can chose to narrow the search further by changing the drop-down menu to list CO Company Entity.
2. Depending on the results, you may wish to filter by SourceType, an option on the left of the results list.
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
1. Enter your company in the first search box. The default drop-down menu will search for that company anywhere in the article or record of the article.
2. If you find you get too many irrelevant results, you can change the drop-down option so the database will only search for the company in the article title (Document Title - TI), or when the company is listed as a subject heading, which is a way databases try and describe and categorize items (Subject heading (all) - SU).
Wall Street Journal (Historical) This link opens in a new window
If you're looking for historical information, or a company that no longer exists, try searching old issues of the Wall Street Journal. This database covers issues from 1889-1999. You can do a basic search by entering the company and pressing search.

International Directory of Company Histories
Location: Hillman Library: (Storage Unit) HD2721.I63
Provides extensive histories on over 6,850 companies. Most companies included have a minimum of $25 million in annual sales and are leading influences in their industries or geographical locations. Most are public companies, but some private and non-profit corporations are included. Use the cumulative index in the latest volume available to see if your company is profiled or mentioned anywhere in the series.
Note: This content is also available in the Business Insights: Global database.
Mergent/Moody's Manuals
Location: Hillman Library: (Storage Unit) HG4961.M67
This multi-volume set includes a brief history in each entry. Some histories, however, are extremely brief. Public companies only.
Note: Current and historic Moody's Manuals are available online through the database Mergent Archives. These volumes are an excellent resource for historical facts and figures. Historic print volumes are located in our storage facility.
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Location: Hillman Library (Storage Unit) HG4009.N68
A collection of chronologies for over 1,500 corporations. Each timeline lists and briefly describes 30 or more key dates that mark major events in a corporation's life story. Included are dates for founding, major product introductions, tenures of pivotal executives, major scandals, mergers and acquisitions, and major stock offerings.

Company News

business newspaper Finding up-to date company information and news can be really important when working on research projects, networking, and job hunting. Use the following resources to help.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1. In the first search bar, type in the company's name. (For a more specific search, change the drop-down menu to show CO Company Entity)
2. On the left of the results list, select Newspapers under the Source Types section
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.
To search in a specific newspaper:
1. Type in the newspaper title in the first search box and change the drown-down menu to Publication Title - PUB.
2. Type in your keywords in the second search box.
3. Press Search.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Note: This will find articles about the company regardless of how the author refers to the company.
1. Under the main search box, click Advanced Search.
2. Under the main search box, now click Select a different content type.
3. Click News
4. Under the Terms section, add any keywords, like sales, marketing, or a specific product or brand.
5. Under Document Segments/Fields, enter the company into the Company Name or Ticker boxes. Note: it is important to enter the official company name.
6. Use any other advanced search fields and press Search.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
If you are looking for smaller companies, try the Regional Business News database or check local newspapers.
Wall Street Journal (Current) This link opens in a new window
This will take you directly to our current access to the Wall Street Journal (HTML plain text only).

Google Finance
Provides company and industry financial information, headlines, and other analysis
Yahoo Finance
Provides company and industry financial information, headlines, and other analysis

Many companies are using social media outlets both to convey their message and to track what customers are saying about them on the web. Social media outlets such as Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube can provide insight into your company and the responses of their users.

For example, searching Twitter for your company or product line can yield a bevy of marketing insight and customer commentary.

Google Alerts
Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your queries.

Use the link to configure Google alerts and have the results delivered directly to an e-mail box of your choosing.

You can also personalize the types of news and sources you want to see.

Many databases offer alert services. Look for any button or link that says alerts or save search or something similar. Most databases will first require you to sign up for a free account.

For further information about setting up alerts, RSS feeds, and other ways to get up-to-date company news more quickly, refer to the following guide.

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)

Corporate social responsibility "has been defined by the World Business Council as ‘the continuing commitment by business to behave ethically and to contribute to economic development while improving the quality of life of the workforce and their families, as well as of the local community and society at large’. The intention of companies adopting a socially responsible corporate attitude is to ensure a positive social, environmental, and economic impact on the communities within which they operate and on all other stakeholders."

Typically corporate social responsibility focuses on improving the environmental and social impact an organization has within its community and the world.

View the full Corporate Social Responsibility Guide for additional resources.

Reference:

Corporate social responsibility (CSR). (2003). In Capstone Press, Capstone encyclopedia of business. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. Retrieved from http://pitt.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/capstonebus/corporate_social_responsibility_csr/0

Accompanying image is from PNC's CSR site.

Use the following resources to find articles related to CSR.

Search Tip: If "corporate social responsibility" is not coming back with relevant results, try "social responsibility business" or "social responsibility" or even "green," "social issues," or "environmentally friendly."

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1. In the first search bar, type in the company's name. (To do an even more specific search, change the drop-down menu to show CO Company Entity)
2. In the second search bar, type in "corporate social responsibility." Using the quotations will force the database to search this entire phrase in this order.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
To find CSR news articles on a company:
1. In the top bar click Companies.
2. Under the content type, now click Company Profiles.
3. Under the search bar, click Select sources to search
4. Scroll down through the list to find CSRHub ESG Ratings and select it.
5. Add the company name to the search bar and hit search.

Find books and ebooks in our collection about CSR using PittCat.

Corporate Social Responsibility by OECD Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9789264194854
Publication Date: 2001-10-10
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) is business's contribution to sustainable development. Today, corporate behaviour must not only ensure returns to shareholders, wages to employees and products and services to customers, it must also respond to societal and environmental concerns. Local cultures are a countervailing force to the global economy and the struggle between the forces of global commerce and the interests of local cultures brings with it new politics. This volume provides a comprehensive overview of contemporary experiences and practices at the local level. It illustrates that partnerships provide a powerful mechanism for helping firms become more socially responsible.
The a to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility by Wayne Visser; Dirk Matten; Manfred Pohl; Nick Tolhurst
ISBN: 9780470666524
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
CSR has now moved beyond the stage of specialist or niche subject to become an integral part of global business and society. This timely edition is destined to become the definitive guide to CSR, Sustainability, Business Ethics and the organizations and standards in the field. The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility is a unique publication and is the culmination of over a hundred of the world's leading thinkers, opinion formers, academic and business people providing an easy-to-use guide to CSR: from general concepts such as sustainability, stakeholder management, business ethics and human rights to more specific topics such as carbon trading, microfinance, biodiversity, the Base of the Pyramid model and globalisation. In addition to definitions of the most important terms across the wide range of CSR associated topics, this book also covers all the most important codes and guidelines, such as the Equator Principles, the UN Global Compact and ISO standards, as well as providing background on organizations such as the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and Transparency International and profiles of CSR in particular industries and regions. This paperback edition includes all the latest developments in CSR as well as incorporating new sections on boardroom pay, the sub-prime market and the financial crisis. Praise for the first edition: "A complete reference guide...offers an invaluable combination of lessons learned and best practice for the future...provides first-hand insights" (Forum CSR International, October 2008) "This is a timely and innovative contribution to the field of Corporate Social Responsibility" (Retail & Leisure International, February 2008) "...a handy reference to have on the shelf behind your desk..." (Ethical Performance, February 2008) "You will not find a wider display of today's key global players and their action programs than here." (CSR-News.net, May 2008) "The book contains a great deal of detailed research." (Supply Management, May 2008)

CR's Best Corporate Citizens
Ranked by environment, climate change, employee relations, human rights, corporate governance, financial performance, philanthropy & community support. There is a link to access the full report near the bottom of the page.
ETHISPHERE World's Most Ethical Companies
A list of the world's most ethical companies according to ETHISPHERE. Check under Scoring & Methodology for information on the process.
Bloomberg Terminal
Note: Only available on Bloomberg Terminals in the Mervis Finance Lab.
Based on a range of environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) factors, tailored to that company’s industry. Presented alongside much of the supporting data.
Once you are logged on to a terminal, enter a company/equity, then enter FA ESG [GO].

Better Business Bureau
Search for reports on businesses or charities (BBB Wise Giving Alliance)
Business & Human Rights Resource Center
Provides a fast way to find information about the exploitative practices of 4,000 businesses worldwide. Search by company name, issue, country or topic.
Business Ethics: A Manual for Managing a Responsible Business Enterprise in Emerging Market Economies
A business ethics manual from the US International Trade Administration.
CorporateRegister.com
Search this global directory of CSR reports on sustainability and the environment, covering thousands of companies.
Corporate Research Project
A non-profit center that researches and analyzes companies and industries.
globalEDGE
Created by Michigan State University, they maintain a list of web resources on CSR.
Greenbiz Sustainability
Provides articles on current trends in business, technology, and sustainability.
The Responsible Shopper
Evaluates companies based on their record on human rights, social justice, environmental sustainability and more.
Sustainability Disclosure Database
Global Reporting Initiative provides users with sustainability reports and other information.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Doing Business Abroad @ Pitt

Need More?

Company Information

Company Profiles and Histories

Company News

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)