Skip to main content

Erroll Garner Archive @ Pitt

Visiting the Archive

The Erroll Garner Archive is located at the Archives Service Center (ASC) at the University of Pittsburgh, located off campus in the Point Breeze neighborhood of Pittsburgh. Researchers are welcome to visit the ASC Monday-Friday, 9:00-4:45 to see the collection. Interested parties are encouraged to contact us first so that we can have material ready for your arrival, though an appointment is not necessary. The ASC is the location where you can see both the physical items from the collection and access the digitized sound recordings. Our website has more detailed information on how to visit us.

Scholarly Use

One of the primary reasons the Erroll Garner Archive came to Pitt was because of the intense interest in the collection from local scholars. Almost as soon as the collection arrived, faculty from Pitt's Department of Music were involved in working with the collection and diving headfirst into their research.

In the fall of 2015, Pitt Assistant Professor of Music Michael Heller initiated the first in-depth research project using the Archive. Heller and three of his Ph.D. students began examining the collection, helping to influence the content of the International Academy of Jazz Hall of Fame exhibit that was launched in February 2016. As part of their project, Dr. Heller and his students wrote a series of blog posts on the Garner Archive, using what they found to discuss Erroll's music, influence, life, and relationships. This series of posts, dubbed Erroll Garner Tuesdays, was featured on the Archives Service Center blog for 13 weeks.

More collaborative projects with researchers are planned for the future, so watch this spot for future updates.