The hands-on, minds-on literacy explorations in this book are designed to feel a lot like play, but are rooted in the foundational literacy practices that all young learners need. Packed with engaging and helpful reproducibles, each activity is thoughtfully laid out with skill(s), materials, introduction, hands-on task, and reflection sections to maximize student learning. Instructions on how to scaffold experiences for a wider range of ages and developmental readiness levels makes this resource imminently flexible.

Tens of thousands of K-3 teachers have relied on this book--now revised and expanded with more than 50% new material--to plan and deliver effective literacy instruction tailored to each student's needs. The authors provide a detailed framework for implementing differentiated small-group instruction over multiweek cycles. Each component of the beginning reading program is addressed--phonological awareness, word recognition, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension. In a large-size format for easy photocopying, the book includes dozens of reproducible lesson plans, instructional activities, assessment forms, and other tools. Purchasers get access to a webpage where they can download and print the reproducible materials.

Now revised and updated, with many new lesson plans and a new chapter on writing instruction, this trusted book guides upper elementary teachers to design and implement a research-based literacy program. The expert authors show how to teach and assess students in differentiated small groups, and explain how instruction works in a tiered response-to-intervention model. Included are extensive reproducible lesson plans and other tools for building students' skills in word recognition, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and writing. The convenient large-size format facilitates photocopying; purchasers also get access to a webpage where they can download and print the reproducible materials.

The Reading Strategies Book 2.0 is designed to work in every K-8 classroom, providing strategies and lesson plans for every type of reader. The user-friendly design of The Reading Strategies Book 2.0 makes it easy to find strategies, prompts, and tips that meet every student where they are now. Save prep time and support readers' progress toward skills mastery with classroom-ready features such as revised lesson language with updated mentor texts, teaching tips with advice for differentiation, and mostly new student-facing charts. Whether you are looking for powerful and engaging lessons for whole-class teaching, need to supplement your core curriculum with small-group instruction, want to improve the quality of content-area instruction, or need ideas for intervention.

The Reading Strategies Book 2.0 Companion Charts includes:  300+ enlarged charts from The Reading Strategies Book 2.0 in full color. Full-color laminated dividers for each chapter that make it easy to flip, find, and teach strategies. Spiral-bound setup for ease of use. Free-standing tabletop flip chart or under document camera display. The Companion Charts are invaluable for educators of all experience levels. A complement to The Reading Strategies Book 2.0, the interactive and enlarged charts are perfect for small-group, conferring, or whole-class lessons. Using Jennifer Serravallo's research-aligned resources together, you'll be able to: save valuable planning and preparation time make demonstrations and explanations of strategies easier provide students with visual anchors to reference as they practice their reading skills

Understanding Texts & Readers makes comprehension make sense. In it, Jennifer Serravallo narrows the distance between assessment and instruction. She maps the four fiction and four nonfiction comprehension goals she presented in The Reading Strategies Book to fourteen text levels and shares sample responses that show what to expect from readers at each. Jen simplifies text complexity and clarifies comprehension instruction. Understanding Texts & Readersshows you how to move forward when students need to make progress.

In A Novel Approach, Kate takes a deep dive into the troubles and triumphs of both whole-class novels and independent reading and arrives at a persuasive conclusion: we can find a student-centered, balanced approach to teaching reading.  reading skills and strategies over the books themselves.

Every chapter of Shifting the Balance, Grades K-2 focuses on one of the six simple and scientifically sound shifts reading teachers can make to strengthen their approach to early reading instruction in these areas: Reading Comprehension, Phonemic Awareness, Phonics, High-Frequency Words, Cueing Systems, Text Selection, and Practical Instruction for Primary Grades: Whether your students are just learning to read or building more advanced reading comprehensive skills, Shifting the Balance, K-2 is designed to help teachers meet the instructional needs of K-2 students. Six Manageable Shifts: Each chapter focuses on a key shift that helps educators understand common misconceptions and adjust their thinking around some common instructional practices that teachers have been using for decades. Evidence-Based Instruction: Burkins and Yates offer busy educators a blueprint for integrating finding from brain research, cognitive science, and child development into their daily instruction, while keeping meaningful experiences with books a priority.

This new text is built in mind specifically for grades 3-5 teachers around best practices for the intermediate classroom. Shifting the Balance, Grades 3-5 introduces six more shifts across individual chapters that: Zoom in on a common (but not-as helpful-as-we-had-hoped) practice to reconsider Untangle a number of "misunderstandings" that have likely contributed to the use of the common practice Propose a more science-aligned shift to the current practice Provide solid scientific research to support the revised practice Offer a collection of high-leverage, easy-to-implement instructional routines to support the shift to more brain-friendly instruction The authors offer a refreshing approach that is respectful, accessible, and practical - grounded in an earnest commitment to building a bridge between research and classroom practice.

Unlock math concepts for struggling learners with the expanded new edition of this bestselling text, ideal for both preservice and in-service educators. Filled with invaluable tips, tools, and research-based strategies for Grades K--12, this comprehensive resource fully prepares teachers to demystify math for a wide range of learners, including students with learning disabilities, ADHD, and mild cognitive disabilities. Thoroughly updated and aligned with current state standards, this second edition includes the latest research, an enhanced instructional framework, expanded coverage of hot topics like RTI and assessment, and more.

Sparked by observing teachers struggle to implement rich mathematics tasks to engage students in deep thinking, Peter Liljedahl has translated his 15 years of research into this practical guide on how to move toward a thinking classroom. Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics, Grades K-12 helps teachers implement 14 optimal practices for thinking that create an ideal setting for deep mathematics learning to occur. This guide: provides the what, why, and how of each practice and answers teachers' most frequently asked questions; includes firsthand accounts of how these practices foster thinking through teacher and student interviews and student work samples; offers a plethora of macro moves, micro moves, and rich tasks to get started; organizes the 14 practices into four toolkits that can be implemented in order and built on throughout the year.

Increase student learning with engaging lesson plans and high-level tasks. In this user-friendly guide, mathematics teachers will discover more than 40 strategies for ensuring students learn critical reasoning skills and retain understanding. Each chapter is devoted to a different Standard for Mathematical Practice and offers an in-depth look at why the standard is important for students' understanding of mathematics.

Meaningful Small Groups in Math, Grades K-5 offer practical guidance on how to meet the diverse needs of today's students. Written for K-5 classroom teachers, math interventionists and instructional coaches, this user-friendly, accessible book provides guidance on the necessary components of small group instruction in math, trajectories for small-group instruction on specific concepts, and practical steps for getting started. Readers will find Checklists and templates for implementing small group, sample lessons in the major content domains.

Connect nature play, outdoor experiences, and STEM learning for young children with activities, real-life examples, and educator resources. Nurture young children's innate tendencies toward exploration, sensory stimulation, and STEM learning when you connect outdoor learning and STEM curriculum. Discover the developmental benefits of outdoor learning and how the rich diversity of settings and materials of nature gives rise to questions and inquiry for deeper learning. Full of activities, examples, and resources to take the fun of STEM outside, this book will help teachers articulate connections between nature play, outdoor experiences, and STEM learning in young children.

A People's Curriculum for the Earth is a collection of articles, role plays, simulations, stories, poems, and graphics to help breathe life into teaching about the environmental crisis. The book features some of the best articles from Rethinking Schools magazine alongside classroom-friendly readings on climate change, energy, water, food, and pollution-as well as on people who are working to make things better.

Teachers raved when NSTA Press published Picture-Perfect Science Lessons .* They loved its lively mix of kid-magnet books, Standards-based science content and ready-to-teach lessons. So what could be more perfect? More Picture-Perfect Science Lessons! This volume offers 15 new lessons that combine picture books and inquiry to develop students' interest in science and reading. The sequel follows the winning formula that made the first book an NSTA best seller. The lessons, following the 5E instructional model developed by the Biological Sciences Curriculum Study (BSCS) cover a variety of science content-- physical science, life science, and Earth and Space Science.

Winner of the Gold EXCEL Award from Association Media & Publishing! To meet that demand, the 15 all-new lessons in Even More Picture-Perfect Science Lessons bring you: * Even more convenience: You can cover reading and science content simultaneously and save time with ready-to-use student pages and assessments. * Even more confidence in your own expertise: You get relevant science concepts and reading comprehension strategies to keep your teaching on track. * Even more ways to entice even reading-phobic children: Each lesson makes students yearn to learn science from such captivating fiction and nonfiction picture books as Houdini the Amazing Caterpillar; Captain Kidd' s Crew Experiments With Sinking and Floating; and The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind. Plus: This latest volume even connects the lessons to A Framework for K- 12 Science Education and the English Language Arts and Literacy Common Core State Standards.

Many resources help you encourage young children to learn about science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). But only this book of quality STEM experiences was curated by the veteran educator who edits Science and Children, NSTA's award-winning journal for elementary teachers. Sensitive to the needs of both preK-5 students and busy teachers, editor Linda Froschauer developed Bringing STEM to the Elementary Classroom as a comprehensive source of classroom-tested STEM investigations. The 36 lessons are: conveniently organized into grade-level bands grounded in science education research designed to encourage learning across disciplines, promote real-world problem-solving skills, introduce children to STEM careers, and serve all students equally well; and connected to all elements of the Next Generation Science Standards.

Building on the success of the previous editions, Essentials of Middle and Secondary Social Studies Third Edition focuses on the key issues central to teaching middle and high school social studies, including lesson planning and instructional strategies. Written in an engaging, conversational style, the text encourages teachers' development as professionals and enables them to effectively use creative and active learning strategies in the everyday classroom. This third edition has been refined with new and relevant topics and strategies needed for effectively teaching middle and high school social studies. These resources were specifically curated to be impactful for preservice and in-service teachers, as well as anyone teaching secondary social studies methods courses. A "Checking for Understanding" section of questions at the end of each chapter focuses on comprehension, application, and reflection on key concepts throughout the chapters impacts teachers An updated chapter titled "Experiencing Social Studies".

Conferring can be a murky and messy process. Conferring with Young Writers is based on the "three Fs": frequency, focus, and follow-up. It presents a classroom management system that offers routine and structure for giving the most effective feedback in a writing conference. This book will help both teachers and students learn to break down and utilize the qualities that enable good writing: elaboration, voice, structure, conventions, and focus. The authors also provide the knowledge and skills it takes to confer well, which will help you improve as a writing teacher and give your students the confidence to think of themselves as writers.

Using a clear and well-organized structure, the authors apply the strategies and techniques originally presented in The New Art and Science of Teaching by Robert J. Marzano to the teaching and assessment of writing skills, as well as some associated reading skills. In total, the book shares more than 100 strategies across grade levels and subject areas. Use effective teaching methods to reach desired writing learning outcomes and student success: Understand which instructional strategies are best suited to teaching writing skills, and gain specific examples for implementing these strategies. Learn how to utilize general and specific strategies to improve the learning environment of the classroom and obtain desired student learning outcomes for writing. Fine-tune your writing curriculum to achieve student success by developing and assessing writing skills with the book's instructional techniques and much more.

The new edition provides a reorganized sequence of activities and even more student-facing examples, making it easier than ever to bring the method to your classroom. The Writing Revolution isn't a separate curriculum or program teachers need to juggle. Rather, it is a method providing strategies and activities that teachers can adapt to their preexisting curriculum and weave into their content instruction. By focusing on specific techniques that match their students' needs and providing them with targeted feedback, The Writing Revolution can turn weak writers into strong and confident communicators.

The Writing Rope: A Framework for Explicit Writing Instruction in All Subjects clearly explains the intertwined skills and processes involved in writing well: transcription, writing craft, critical thinking, syntax, and text structure. Steeped in writing research and packed with reproducible handouts and templates, this book provides the knowledge and resources educators need to help students master writing.

In The Writing Strategies Book,Jen Serravallo collects 300 of the most effective strategies to share with writers and groups them beneath 10 crucial goals. From composing with pictures all the way to conventions and beyond, you'll have just-right teaching, just in time. With Jen's help you'll: develop individual goals for every writer give students step-by-step strategies for writing with skill and craft coach writers using prompts aligned to a strategy present mentor texts that support a genre and strategy adjust instruction to meet individual needs with Jen's Teaching Tips demonstrate and explain a writing move with her Lesson Language learn more with Hat Tips to the work of influential teacher-authors.

Research shows student movement in the classroom is integral to improving cognitive engagement. But how do you integrate movement and instruction seamlessly and effectively? Author Rebecca Stobaugh guides the way with research-backed strategies utilizing classroom design, class climate, and classroom management. This book will help K-12 educators: Implement movement-based activities to improve student engagement Create a classroom climate that models safety and belonging for all students Utilize various strategies for students to participate in pairs, groups, and teams Understand the research behind cognitive engagement and embodied learning Explore the concept of movement integration in the classroom.

Would you want to be a student in your own classroom? In Passionate Learners: How to Engage and Empower Your Students, author Pernille Ripp challenges both novice and seasoned teachers to create a positive, interactive learning environment where students drive their own academic achievement.

Written as a practical guide for teachers, this expanded third edition of Carol Ann Tomlinson's groundbreaking work covers the fundamentals of differentiation and provides additional guidelines and new strategies for how to go about it. You'll learn: What differentiation is and why it's essential. How to set up the flexible and supportive learning environment that promotes success. How to manage a differentiated classroom. How to plan lessons differentiated by readiness, interest, and learning profile. How to differentiate content, process, and products. How to prepare students, parents, and yourself for the challenge of differentiation.