This is the "Home" page of the "Latin American Resources @ Pitt" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American Resources @ Pitt   Tags: international_affairs, latin_american_studies, spanish  

This guide is designed to highlight important resources for the study of Latin America and the Caribbean as well as to identify major national and international resources.
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2012 URL: http://pitt.libguides.com/latinamericanstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Martha E. Mantilla
Contact Info
171 Hillman Library - University of Pittsburgh
3960 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA. 15260 USA

Voice: (412) 648-7734
Fax: (412) 648-7713
E-mail: martham@pitt.edu
Send Email
 

Ask-A-Librarian

If you have a question or need more information please contact one of our professional librarians instantly with Ask-A-Librarian Chat.

You need to enable JavaScript in your browser to chat with us.

For more ways to ask your question, please visit our Ask-A-Librarian page.

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.

  • Get It!
    Use this to request a book from another Pitt library or Storage. Click on the Get It! symbol in the catalog record, and fill out the form. Log in using your University Computing Account (email) username and password.
  • E-ZBorrow
    Borrow an item from one of 70+ other regional libraries -- fast! You will need your Pitt ID number (starts with 2P) to use E-ZBorrow.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
    If E-ZBorrow doesn’t have what you need, you can order a book or article through the Requests from Other Libraries page. Log in using your University Computing Account (email) username and password.
 

WELCOME

This guide is designed to highlight important resources for the study of Latin America and the Caribbean as well as to identify major national and international resources.  The information included here should be treated as entry points for further documentation and bibliography.

The tabs at the top of the page will connect you to categories of resources and information.



About the Eduardo Lozano Latin American Collection

Purpose of the collection

The Eduardo Lozano Latin American Collection supports the research and teaching in Latin American Studies of the University of Pittsburgh, particularly the interdisciplinary programs sponsored and coordinated by the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS).

History of the collection

The Latin American Collection at the University of Pittsburgh was formed in 1964 in conjunction with the creation of the Center for Latin American (CLAS) and the Department of Hispanic Languages and Literatures.  The dramatic growth of the library collection is a reflection of the development of the University of Pittsburgh as one of the world’s major centers for teaching and research on Latin America.  The Center for Latin American Studies has earned recognition within the University of Pittsburgh, having been designated  by the provost, in 1984, as one of six University Programs of Distinction.  The Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS), a U.S. Department of Education designated National Resource Center, is a key point of liaison between the Latin American collection and its users. 

Due to an active and comprehensive acquisition program since its creation, the collection holds unique and rare materials not available to collection formed after that time.  Planning to stay in Pittsburgh no more than a year, Eduardo Lozano came from his native Argentina in 1967, with the task of creating a Latin American Collection at the University of Pittsburgh.  Lozano spent close to 40 years developing one of the finest Latin American Collections in the United States.  In 1997, in recognition of his 30 years as head of the Latin American Collection, the University of Pittsburgh System renamed the collection for Eduardo Lozano. 

In addition to systematic purchases through book publishers and book dealers Lozano made extensive annual trips to Latin America acquiring government documents and library materials published by nongovernmental organization, research centers, and small publishing houses.   Until now, the library holdings continue to be collected systematically and comprehensively though individual purchases and periodic buying trips to the region. 

Another major source for collecting is the vast exchange program.  The collection maintains exchange agreements with more than 200  libraries, research centers, universities, and governmental institutions all over the world.            

State, regional, national and international importance

In addition to serving the Pitt community, the Eduardo Lozano Latin American Collection serves as a local, regional, national and international resource center and clearinghouse for information on Latin America and it is the sole resource Latin American resource in Western Pennsylvania. 

Scope of the collection

Pitt’s Latin American collection is internationally renowned for the quality of its resources especially its extensive holdings on Bolivia, Cuba, Argentina and Brazil attracting researchers and students from around the world.  Bolivia became an early focus of collection interest, as Pitt social scientists were prominent in pioneering scholarship on this Andean country. 

Read more about The Eduardo Lozano Latin American Collection and the Latin American Readings Room

      
     

    PITTStop: Finding Articles Using PITTCat+

     

    Research consultation ?

     

    http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_C-BVVZupiyY/SwuQz33LgVI/AAAAAAAAApk/E16KbSCNe58/s1600/Symbol%20Black%20Question.jpg

     

    I am available to assist with your research.  To make an appointment, please email me at  martham at pitt.edu

    In your email, please describe your topic and suggest some dates and times when you would be available. 


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip