Skip to main content

Elizabeth Nesbitt Collection @ Pitt: 19th Century Juvenile Magazines

This guide identifies some of the 12,000+ resources available in the Nesbitt Collection. Comprised of children's literature and material related to the history of children and their books, collection items date from the 1600's through the present.

The Golden Age of Children's Periodicals

Juvenile periodicals were fairly new in 1802, the year of the earliest publication we hold in this collection, The Juvenile Magazine, or Miscellaneous Repository of Useful Information. Children read primarily for education abd moral instruction.

As a browse of the collection reveals, the concept of reading for pleasure made its way into the genre. Over time there were distinct changes in the quality of the content in non-fiction offerings, inclusion of fiction, and the detail of the illustrations.

Contributors ranged from  the obscure to the well-known in both adult and children’s literature as well as illustration. Child-authored content from readers appears, too!

Nineteenth Century Juvenile Periodicals A-L

Searching 19th C. Juvenile Magazines

Juvenile Magazine Titles

This collection is comprised of more than 85 popular magazines children published in England and American between 1802 and 1943.

Nesbitt 19th Century Juvenile Magazine Title List PDF

 

Nesbitt 19th Century Juvenile Magazine Publication Start Dates PDF

 

Nesbitt 19th Century Juvenile Magazine Publisher Index PDF

 

Accessing the Collection

Many of the 19th Century Juvenile Magazines are located in ULS Storage.  To search and request these items:

  1. Search by magazine title in PITTCat Classic
  2. Select the record you would like to request
  3. Select the "Get It!" button at the top of the record
  4. Sign in with your PITT username and password
  5. Change the dropdown menu from Recall to Get It!
  6. Follow the screen directions—select Hillman as pick up location
  7. In the notes field, add:  Please send this entire issue to Hillman for Special Collections use.  (Typically, users request a specific article, not an entire issue or bound volume.)

Complete and submit your request.  You’ll get a screen message when your request has been successfully submitted.  You’ll receive an email notification when the item is available for in-library Special Collections use.