Finding Articles - Art History - Greensburg Campus - Guides at University of Pittsburgh

Art Databases

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Database allows you to search within Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encylopedia of Aesthetics, and the Consice Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art. Coverage from 1975-2007 is provided in the Bibliography of the History of Art database.
Bibliography of the History of Art Repertoire de la litterature de l'art This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984. The database cites articles from 579 influental art publications throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2.3 million entries, PQDT is the database of record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Over 60,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains more than 43 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Try searching here for hard-to-find books.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides citations to more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Also includes major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers all fields and includes some architecture journals in full-text.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Carnegie Magazine
This is not a library database, but the Carnegie Museum of Art site for The Carnegie Magazine. Click on "Back Issues" too look for articles about past Carnegie Internationals. Search the years the exhibitions were held.

Fordham Internet History Sourcebook

A resource you may find helpful when searching for your textual primary source is the Fordham Internet History Sourcebook. This site contains primary source documents from Ancient, Medieval and Modern times.

Related LibGuides

Pitt librarians have created several other LibGuides that may help you with your research for this project, including:

Finding Primary Sources @ Pitt
by David Kupas Last Updated Oct 7, 2024 112 views this year
Visual & Performing Arts Timeline - Greensburg Campus
by Renee Kiner Last Updated Jan 14, 2025 34 views this year

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Art History - Greensburg Campus

Search Google Scholar

Art Databases

Fordham Internet History Sourcebook

Related LibGuides