Getting Started - Art History - Greensburg Campus - Guides at University of Pittsburgh

Online Art History Reference Resources

You can access these resources both on- and off- campus.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Database allows you to search within Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encylopedia of Aesthetics, and the Consice Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

The Bloomsbury Guide to Art
"The Bloomsbury Guide to Art is one of the most up-to-date and comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture available today. It is an invaluable reference source and provides a fascinating insight into the origins and significance of the work of Western artists and architects."
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
"International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists."
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection."
Glossary of Medieval Art and Architecture

The Research Process & Tips

Develop a topic that asks a question or poses a problem that interests you.
Select appropriate search terms for your subject. More specific search terms will yield better results. Some examples of broad topics that can be further narrowed down include:
- Sistine Chapel Frescoes
- Patrons in Renaissance Italy
- Greek Vase Painting
- Near Eastern Art
Search PittCat and subject oriented databases.
Revise your topic. Determine how you will answer your question.
Evaluate your resources carefully!
When in doubt, contact your librarian.

There are some other LibGuides (research guides) at the University of Pittsburgh that you may find helpful. At pitt.libguides.com, search by subject under "Art and Architecture" or browse by "art." Here are a few that you may find useful for this class or Dr. McAlister's other classes.

Finding Primary Sources @ Pitt
by David Kupas Last Updated Aug 29, 2024 337 views this year
Medieval and Renaissance Studies - Pittsburgh
by Clare Withers Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 140 views this year
Japanese Art History Guide
by Hiroyuki Good Last Updated Mar 5, 2024 165 views this year
Exoticism and Orientalism in French Literature and Art – Pittsburgh Campus
by Rachel Lavenda Last Updated May 13, 2024 160 views this year

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Art History - Greensburg Campus

Contact a Librarian

Need research help? We'll meet with you!

Online Art History Reference Resources

The Research Process & Tips