Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Provenance: An Alternate History of Art by
This book goes beyond the narrow definition of the term provenance, which addresses only the bare facts of ownership and transfer, to explore ideas about the origins and itineraries of objects, consider the historical uses of provenance research, and draw attention to the transformative power of ownership.
The AAM Guide to Provenance Research by
This guide is a comprehensive and authoritative resource for tracing the ownership history of works of art. Focused on cultural property looted by the Nazis and others during WWII, it is divided into three parts: Basic Provenance Research and Principles, Holocaust-Era Provenance Research, and Appendixes, which include bibliographies of collections, dealer archives, and "red flag names" compiled by the Office of Strategic Services.
Art, Cultural Heritage and the Market by
In the age of economic globalisation, do art and heritage matter? Once the domain of elitist practitioners and scholars, the governance of cultural heritage and the destiny of iconic artefacts have emerged as the new frontier of international law, making headlines and attracting the varied interests of academics and policy-makers, museum curators and collectors, human rights activists and investment lawyers and artists and economists, just to mention a few. The return of cultural artefacts to their legitimate owners, the recovery of underwater cultural heritage and the protection and promotion of artistic expressions are just some of the pressing issues addressed by this book.
Vitalizing Memory by
At AAM's 2004 International Provenance Research Colloquium, specialists from North America met with colleagues from western and central Europe to exchange information on the general topic of provenance research, with an emphasis on World War II provenance issues.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Database allows you to search within Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encylopedia of Aesthetics, and the Consice Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JStor includes the annual reports and newsletters of many major American art museums.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.