Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Major Research Tools
United Nations Digital Library
Primary index to United Nations documentation published since 1979 (or earlier for selected major documents) and indexed by the Dag Hammarskjold Library or the Library of the UN Office in Geneva. It includes the catalogue of the non-UN collections of both libraries and also provides access to detailed voting records of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly and the Security Council.
AccessUN (1945 - Present)
(Pitt users only) Provides access to documents and publications of UN periodicals.
United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) supplies copies of documents published by the United Nations. Full text is available for all documents published since 1993 and select documents published from 1946-1993.
UN Treaty Collection
Full text of treaties and agreements filed with the UN since 1946.
Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research Guides
The UN Documentation Research Guide presents an overview of selected UN documents, publications, databases and websites.
The online catalog of Pitt's University Library System. Lists many of the UN documents and publications in our collection.
- The United Nations Documents Index covers publications from 1950-1973. We also have a four-volume, cumulative version of this index for the years 1950-1962. The Index was later split into UNDEX and UNDOC, both of which ceased publication in 1996. All indexes include a list of documents and publications, a list of official records, an author index, a title index, and a subject index.
- Besides the Documents Index, we have separate indexes for the UN Treaty Series; for the proceedings of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and Trusteeship Council; and for documents of the League of Nations. All indexes are shelved in our off-site storage facility. Please contact Christopher Lemery for access.