Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

United Nations Documents & Publications - Oakland Campus

This guide is designed to help library users to find United Nations materials in Hillman Library and on the web.

Organizational Structure

The UN Charter established six principal organs of the United Nations: the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice, and the Secretariat. However, the the UN family is much larger, encompassing 15 agencies and several programs and bodies.

For additional information, see the UN System Organizational Chart and the Directory of the United Nations System Organizations.



There are currently 193 member states in the United Nations.

The Member States webpage lists names of member states, date of admission to UN, web address of delegation, contact information for delegation, and basic data on each state.


For each state, the UN Member States on the Record webpage provides  the key documents related to membership; statements made before the principal organs of the UN; draft resolutions sponsored; periodic reports submitted on Human Rights conventions, and more.

History of the UN

In 1945, representatives of 50 countries met in San Francisco to draw up the United Nations Charter.  The delegates deliberated on the basis of proposals worked out by representatives of China, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom and the United States at Dumbarton Oaks, United States in August-October 1944.

The Charter was signed on June 26, 1945 by the representatives of the 50 countries. Poland, signing later, subsequently became one of the original 51 Member States.

The UN officially came into existence on 24 October 1945, when the Charter had been ratified by China, France, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, the United States and by a majority of other signatories.

For more, see the History of the United Nations webpage.

Areas of Concern