Skip to main content

Scholarly Research for Theatre Design @ PITT: Image & Video Resources

A Resource Guide for Theatre Design Students

Images

Artstor

Artstor is a digital image library that provides over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Corbis Images

Corbis Images provides exceptional commercial and editorial photography and illustrations.

Getty Search Gateway

The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

Life Magazine photo archives

The collection documents past cultural and political events, as well as the celebrities who helped shape our modern world – perfect for creating retrospectives and adding respected historical reference

Museum of the City of New York

Explore New York’s past through over 170,000 images and objects from the collections of the Museum of the City of New York.

National Portrait Gallery

Search more than 100,000 portrait records from the Catalog of American Portraits (CAP), a survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Production Art Database | Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

This database is a guide to original artwork in the library's collection, including costume design and production design drawings, animation art, storyboards and paintings.

Video

Opera in Video

Contains five hundred hours of opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Theatre in Video

Theatre in Video contains definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with film documentaries, all online in streaming video. There are currently 279 titles available. When complete, Theatre in Video will contain more than 350 full-length plays and documentaries.

Kanopy

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films each year, including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases on every topic imaginable