Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Costume Design Collections
Daphne Dare Papers at Ohio State University
Original designs and accompanying materials by Dare, longtime designer for the Stratford Ontario Festival, the West End, the Chichester Festival, and television and film design, including Dr. Who.
The collection contains 1,972 items consisting of blue prints, clippings, copies of designs, notes, original costume designs, original set designs, photographs, slides, postcards, posters, programs.
Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design
5000 high-quality scanned images of costume and set designs from the Motley Collection at University of Illinois. The Motley group designed sets and costumes from 1932 to 1976 for plays by Shakespeare and modern classics, opera, ballet, and motion pictures. Their designs were used in productions in the West End of London, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, the English National Opera, and in the United States on Broadway.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete run of U.S. Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present, fully indexed and searchable in a full color collection.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included.
These image collections can provide insight on the clothing and fashions of the past.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Encyclopedias on Costuming
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
Call Number: GT507 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2004
Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History, 1900 to the Present by
Call Number: GT615 .G74 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Find out what we wore and why we wore it in The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing in American History-Twentieth Century to the Present. This fascinating reference set provides two levels of information: descriptions of styles of clothes that Americans have worn and, as important, why they wore those types of clothes. With volume one covering 1900-1949 and volume two covering 1950 to the present, the first half of each volume provides four chapters that each examine the impact that political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures have on fashion. The second half of each volume describes the important and everyday fashion and styles of the period, decade by decade, for women, men, and children. The set also includes helpful timelines; resource guides listing web sites, videos, and print publications; an extensive glossary; and illustrations.