"Improving Library and Information Services for American Indians. Breaking down public perceptions of who Native Americans are. Elevating conversation around Native American issues. Promoting Native education, literacy, and community."

"Native Governance Center held an event on moving beyond land acknowledgment on August 25, 2021. The event
featured Nikki Pitre (Center for Native American Youth), Joye Braun (Indigenous Environmental Network), President Robert Larsen (Lower Sioux Community), and Michelle Vassel and David Cobb (Wiyot Honor Tax). This guide is based on content contributed during our event; we are grateful to our presenters for sharing their wisdom with us."

"Our Foundation: to uphold the Federal Government's obligation to promote healthy American Indian and Alaska Native people, communities, and cultures and to honor and protect the inherent sovereign rights of Tribes."

"The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego."

"The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition's mission is "to lead in the pursuit of understanding and addressing the ongoing trauma created by the U.S. Indian Boarding School policy."

"The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (Public Law 101-601; 25 U.S.C. 3001-3013) describes the rights of Native American lineal descendants, Indian tribes, and Native Hawaiian organizations with respect to the treatment, repatriation, and disposition of Native American human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, and objects of cultural patrimony, referred to collectively in the statute as cultural items, with which they can show a relationship of lineal descent or cultural affiliation."

America’s institutions maintain control of more than a hundred thousand remains of Native Americans as well as sacred items. A federal law, the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act, was meant to help return them, but decades after its 1990 passage, many tribes are still waiting.

"Established in 1969, the United South and Eastern Tribes, Inc. (USET) is a non-profit, inter-Tribal organization serving thirty-three (33) federally recognized Tribal Nations from the Northeastern Woodlands to the Everglades and across the Gulf of Mexico. USET is dedicated to enhancing the development of Tribal Nations, improving the capabilities of Tribal governments, and improving the quality of life for Indian people through a variety of technical and supportive programmatic services."

This policy and practice brief explores the concept of “land back” in higher education. The author explains why land-based reparations--not just land acknowledgements--are necessary, and presents options for institutions.

How the United States funded land-grant universities with expropriated Indigenous land.

"Over 250,000 objects have been digitally imaged and are accessible online through the Collections Database."

"The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution, and it serves as the research arm of Congress."

"Tribally owned and operated since it opened on Aug. 11, 1998, the Museum brings to life the story of the Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation. It serves as a major resource on the histories and cultures of Native Americans in the northeast and on the region's rich natural history."

"Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business."

"Since the passage of its enabling legislation in 1989 (amended in 1996), the NMAI has been steadfastly committed to bringing Native voices to what the museum writes and presents, whether on-site at one of the three NMAI venues, through the museum's publications, or via the Internet. The NMAI is also dedicated to acting as a resource for the hemisphere's Native communities and to serving the greater public as an honest and thoughtful conduit to Native cultures—present and past—in all their richness, depth, and diversity."

"In 1911, the Newberry received more than 17,000 items related to Indigenous peoples from collector and trustee Edward E. Ayer. Like many Americans at the time, Ayer subscribed to the belief that American Indians were a “vanishing race.” Incorrectly assuming that American Indian peoples would eventually cease to exist, Ayer urgently collected items about their histories and cultures. Building on Ayer’s original gift, we’ve expanded the collection to include more and more materials representing Native writers, artists, and activists from throughout the Western Hemisphere."

"This website highlights the Census Bureau's relationship with tribal governments and provides important AIAN and tribal resources. The Census Bureau collects data for the AIAN population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics."

"Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities."

"The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs."

"Treaties—solemn agreements between sovereign nations—lie at the heart of the relationship between Indian Nations and the United States. Native Nations made treaties with one another long before Europeans came to the Western Hemisphere. The United States began making treaties with Native Peoples because they were independent nations. Often broken, sometimes coerced, treaties still define mutual obligations between the United States and Indian Nations. The eight treaties featured in Nation to Nation: Treaties Between the United States and American Indian Nations, on loan from the National Archives and Records Administration, are representative of the approximately 374 that were ratified between the United States and Native Nations." (Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian)

"This Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents."

The Native Land Information System (NLIS) was developed by the Native Lands Advocacy Project (NLAP); a project of Village Earth, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization based in Fort Collins, Colorado, with funding from the Indian Land Tenure Foundation. The NLIS serves as repository of learning resources, information, and data to help defend and protect Native lands for the benefit of Native peoples. The NLIS also aims to challenge the status quo of historical data colonialism in the United States.

"The Tribal Statistical Areas Program (TSAP), a decennial program of the U. S. Census Bureau, was part of an ongoing effort to enhance the reporting of meaningful statistical data for American Indian and Alaska Native areas. Through the program, tribes had the opportunity to identify and delineate the geographic statistical areas and block boundaries for which the Census Bureau tabulates data for the 2010 Census and the ongoing American Community Survey (ACS) after 2010. Statistical data from the 2010 Census and the ACS post-2010 can provide tribes with a meaningful tool to help make informed decisions, and plan for services such as education, health, and housing."

"The Tribal Law and Order Act of 2010 (TLOA; P.L. 111-211, 124 Stat. 2258, Section 251(b)) requires the Bureau of Justice Statistics to establish and implement a tribal data collection system and to support tribal participation in national records and information systems. This page serves as a data repository, ensuring these Indian country justice statistics are easily located and accessible from a central source."

"The first AILA American Indian Youth Literature Awards were presented during the Joint Conference of Librarians of Color in 2006. Awarded biennially, the AIYLA identifies and honors the very best writing and illustrations by Native Americans and Indigenous peoples of North America. Books selected to receive the award present Indigenous North American peoples in the fullness of their humanity. In odd-numbered years, nominations are encouraged in fiction or nonfiction and may include graphic novels; for picture books, the award is for both author and illustrator. Awards are granted in even-numbered years."

Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides a critical analysis, best books, and "not recommended" books of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books.

Facing History and Ourselves combats racism and antisemitism by using history to teach tolerance in classrooms around the globe. Over ten blog posts that touch on the topics of teaching about Native Americans.

A guide from the National Museum of the American Indian. It was "written by staff at the Museum in consultation with Haudenosaunee scholars and community members.

This site is designed to help educators and students explore the Hood Museum of Art’s collection of Native American art. It features over 100 objects grouped thematically from four regions of North America.

"Cohosted by experts from the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, this webinar will delve into the ways American history instruction often fails to acknowledge—and contributes to—the erasure of Indigenous stories and perspectives. Join us and you’ll learn about critical historical events, as well as cultural and societal contributions of Indigenous peoples past and present. You will also examine common misconceptions and stereotypes and gain resources for teaching a more complete history."

"Teaching about Thanksgiving in a socially responsible way means that educators accept the ethical obligation to provide students with accurate information and to reject traditions that sustain harmful stereotypes about Indigenous peoples. Thankfully, there are excellent online resources that can help educators interested in disrupting the hegemonic Thanksgiving story."

"Native Knowledge 360° (NK360°) provides educators and students with new perspectives on Native American history and cultures. Most Americans have only been exposed to part of the story, as told from a single perspective through the lenses of popular media and textbooks. NK360° provides educational materials, virtual student programs, and teacher training that incorporate Native narratives, more comprehensive histories, and accurate information to enlighten and inform teaching and learning about Native America. NK360° challenges common assumptions about Native peoples and offers a view that includes not only the past but also the vibrancy of Native peoples and cultures today."

"Ganondagan State Historic Site located in Victor, NY is a National Historic Landmark, the only New York State Historic Site dedicated to a Native American theme (1987), and the only Seneca town developed and interpreted in the United States."

The Marvin “Joe” Curry Veterans Pow Wow is being held at Veterans Memorial Park in Salamanca, NY, the 3rd weekend of July. The mission of our website is to provide information pertaining to the latest news, and registration process, and to provide a written history of our earlier pow wows. Please explore our website and check back often as there will be many updates."

"This digital exhibit is provided by the Seneca-Iroquois National Museum for informational and educational purposes only. The Seneca Nation of Indians is a sovereign nation; any reference to content from this digital exhibit must comply with Seneca Nation Law. Re-production, quoting, or in any way using any text, sound, imagery, or motion pictures from this digital exhibit is strictly prohibited without the written consent of the Seneca Nation of Indians."

"The Seneca-Iroquois National Museum proudly houses an extensive collection of Hodinöhsö:ni’ historical and traditionally designed decorative and every-day-use items and archaeological artifacts. SINM, along with the Seneca Nation Archives Department, are the safe keepers of historical documents, including articles, special publications, historical and family photographs and various multi-media productions regarding the Onöndowa’ga:’ and Hodinöhsö:ni’."

"The modern-day Seneca Nation of Indians is a true democracy whose constitution was established in 1848. The Nation’s constitution provides for a multi-branch system of government that is comprised of elected Executive and Legislative branches, and an elected Judicial branch. Leadership rotates back and forth between residents of the Cattaraugus and Allegany territories every two years."

"The mission of our #StandWithSeneca campaign is to inform the region about the positive economic impact of the Seneca Nation, educate the public on the history of the Seneca Nation, and advocate for a fair relationship between the Seneca Nation and New York State."

The Online Books Page is an index of e-textbooks available on the Internet. It is edited by John Mark Ockerbloom and is hosted by the library of the University of Pennsylvania. The Online Books Page lists over 2 million books. This link directs you to the list of eBooks from the browsing subject area: Seneca Indians -- History.