When we refer to a database in libraries, we are referring to online resources that index journals, journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and other content. These databases make it easy for users to search across multiple content types and content providers without having to search each provider individually.

• Some databases offer access to a broad variety of content, and are often good starting points for research.
• Other databases are subject specific and are useful for finding resources related to a specific field of research.

All of our databases offer multiple options for searching and refining search results, and many of the databases offer access to full-text articles.

How can databases improve your research? Check out the video below!

Video from Yavapai College Library

The University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS) subscribes to a large number of databases to help you find research materials. Use the links below to find the types of databases for which you are looking.

The type of database you choose for your research will depend on

• the type of project you are considering
• and the types of research questions you are trying to answer.

In many cases, preliminary research to help formulate your research questions and solidify your research project can be best conducted in a general purpose database. On the other hand, if you have a solid research theme, working in a subject specific database often results in more in-depth content.

Use the links below to see some examples of general purpose and subject specific databases. These databases are listed from most general to most specific for Engineering projects.

With your research topic in hand you must formulate a search strategy. The first step in this process is to:

•     Develop a set of search terms you will initially use to search for resources
•     Draw an initial set of search terms from your thesis topic (e.g. magnetization AND plasma)

But it may also be helpful to:

•     Try some specific search terms (e.g. magnetic hysteresis, neutron irradiation)
•     Try some broader search terms (e.g. "fusion technology")

It is highly unlikely that your first search will result in a perfect result set. Refining your search can return more relevant results, providing you with higher quality resources for your research. Use the tips below to refine your searches:

• Alter Your Search Terms

Based on your search results, you may consider altering the terms you enter into the search box. For example, use more specific language  (Alzheimer's instead of dementia) or find synonyms for your search terms (girder instead of beam).

• Combine Search Terms 

Combining two or more search terms can help refine your results. Use AND to combine terms representing different concepts to focus your results more narrowly (polymer AND ethylene AND catalyst). Use OR to combine synonyms or related terms to broaden your search results (sensor OR sensing OR detection).

• Search Specific Phrases 

Searching for relevant exact phrases can narrow your search results. In many databases you can search phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks ("electric vehicle"); however, use the Help page in your database to check for specifics.

• Find New Keywords and Search Terms

Look at your initial set of search results for new keywords and search terms. When you find an article or resource that is relevant, look for new terms that you can use to refine your search. Academic articles may have a Keywords or Subject Headings section from which you can extract new terms. Also look at titles, abstracts, figures, and summaries for useful terminology.