Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Selected Pictorial Titles
Illustrated journals published in the late 19th century and early 20th centuries vividly recorded the daily life of the Chinese, as well as political and economic conditions. They are important sources for studies on modern China.
The image above shows some Chinese women are playing "corner pool." It appeared in Dianshizhai Huabao 點石齋畫報, a famous pictorial printed in Shanghai during the late 19th century.
Reprint of: Shen Bao tu hua zhou kan (87 nos. and 1 speical no.), originally published weekly in May 1930-Oct. 1932 ; Shen bao tu hua te kan (265 nos. and 3 special nos.), originally published semiweekly in Jan. 1934-Aug. 1937.
One of the most influential and popular comprehensive pictorial (photographic) journals in modern China. Reprint.
Reprint of 北洋畫報 published in Tianjin between 1926 and 1937.
One of the most prominent pictorial magazines in China. Reprint.
Reprint of ten pictorial journals before 1912 including 飛影閣畫,新聞畫報, etc.
Reprint of more than 30 pictorial journals including 淺說畫報. 通俗畫報, etc. published mainly during the 19th and the early 20th centuries.
Reprint of 22 pictorial journals published between 1912 and 1949 in Sichuan, Hunan, Nanjing, etc.
Reprint of pictorial journals published between 1912 and 1949 in Beijing.
Reprint of pictorial journals published between 1912 and 1949 in Hong Kong and Guangdong.
Reprint of pictorial journals published between 1912 and 1949 in Shanhai.
Reprint of pictorial journals published between 1912 and 1949 in Tianjin.
Basic Catalogs and Indices
Covers information concerning newspapers and periodicals published between 1815 and 2003.
A catalog covering 495 Chinese periodicals focusing on philosophy and social sciences published between 1857 and 1918.
A union catalog including approximately 20,000 titles of Chinese periodicals published before 1949 and currently held at 50 libraries nation-wide. Electronic version also available.
Supplement to the title above.
Covers information concerning newspapers and periodicals published between 1815 and 1911.
An index to editorials and leading articles appearing in four major newspapers during the Republican Era: Shen Bao 申報 (1872-1949), Dagong Bao 大公報 (1902-1949), Minguo Ribao 民國日報 (Shanghai, 1916-1947), and Zhongyang Ribao 中央日報 (1928-1949).
Selected Subject Indices
*ULS carries a number of subject indices of Chinese periodicals as printed ones or in databases. The listed titles here are only selected and basic ones. For more subject indices please ask for help from Haihui Zhang (email@example.com)
Covers major newspapers and journals published in China between 1905 and 1937 on subjects such as classics, philology, archaeology, history, geography, philosophy, literature, science, politics, economics, sociology, education, religion, art, music, and library science.
Includes over 30,000 articles on general and special history topics published in over 960 journals from before the Sino-Japanese War to September 1949.
An index to historical geography periodicals published between 1900 and 1980.
An index to 276 literature journals published from 1915 to 1948.
An index to 657 modern literature journals published between 1919 and 1949.
A general catalog of women journals published in Modern China.
An index to 270 journals of musicology, music theories, general knowledge of music, and music scores published between 1906 and 2000.
中國農業論文索引 : 1858-1934
An index to agriculture journals published between 1858 and 1934.
中國文化研究論文目錄 : 民國35年至68年
An index to more than one thousand papers and reports on the Chinese culture, mostly published in Taiwan between 1946 and 1979.
Databases (Full-text and Index)
The National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals (NICNP)
It provides access to full-text Chinese-language articles of newspapers and periodicals published from 1833 to 1949. The database also provides citation information for those published since 1950.
China Academic Journals - Century Journals Project
Century Journals Project of CAJ selects the most important academic journals published in China and digitizes all journals since their first publication up until 1993. The earliest issuel dates back to 1887.
A number of newspapers and journals published before 1949 are included.
A number of periodicals published before 1949, such as 北洋畫報, are included.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
The collection, ultimately comprising 500,000 pages from hundreds of titles published in China between 1912 and 1949, is hosted on East View’s GPA platform with robust search functionality for multi-language content.
Selected Periodicals in Printed Format
Selected Full-text Newspapers in Microform