Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Related Guides & Resources
At a Regional Campus?
Contact your regional library for help.
SciFinder and Reaxys focus on chemistry and include special features, such as structure searching. The other databases are multidisciplinary, but also contain much chemical information.
SciFinder is the CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) database covering the chemical literature, chemical substances and reactions, chemical catalogs and regulatory information, as well as the Medline database.
Each SciFinder user must register
for a personal account before searching. It’s advisable to check the instructions
The Reaxys database provides detailed information on the reactions and properties, including bioactivities, of millions of chemical substances, along with chemical catalog information and literature references. Specialty features such as structure and reaction searching are included.
Scopus is a comprehensive database for scientific, technical and medical information, containing approximately 13,000 journal titles from 4,000 publishers, and abstracts going back to 1966.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the three major citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Related and Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases contain much chemical information, but do not focus on chemistry.
ProceedingsFirst offers tables of contents from worldwide conferences, professional meetings and symposia; lists papers presented at those meetings; and provides an overview of the activities at such meetings.
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Full-Text Journal Databases
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.