Guides: Chemistry Databases: Home

Related Guides & Resources

Advanced Inorganic Synthesis Laboratory - Pittsburgh Campus
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 793 views this year
Chemical Safety - Pittsburgh Campus
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Dec 6, 2023 974 views this year
Chemistry Capstone - Bradford Campus
by Kimberly Bailey Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 41 views this year
Diversity Resources for the Sciences @ Pitt
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Jul 11, 2023 47 views this year
Drugs and Society - Bradford Campus
by Kimberly Bailey Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 76 views this year
Natural Science 1 & 2 - Greensburg Campus
by Kelly Safin Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 301 views this year
Organic Chemistry - Bradford Campus
by Kimberly Bailey Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 81 views this year
Women in STEM Resources @ Pitt
by Kelly Safin Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 184 views this year
Writing a Research Proposal @ Pitt
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Oct 7, 2024 799 views this year
Writing in Chemistry - Pittsburgh Campus
by Margarete Bower Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 44 views this year

At a Regional Campus?

Contact your regional library for help.

Bradford Campus
Kimberly Bailey, hanold@pitt.edu
Greensburg Campus
Kelly Safin, kab309@pitt.edu
Johnstown Campus
David Kupas, dmk24@pitt.edu
Titusville Campus
Marc Ross, marcross@pitt.edu

Chemistry Databases

SciFinder and Reaxys focus on chemistry and include special features, such as structure searching. The other databases are multidisciplinary, but also contain much chemical information.

SciFinder
SciFinder is the CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) database covering the chemical literature, chemical substances and reactions, chemical catalogs and regulatory information, as well as the Medline database.

Each SciFinder user must register for a personal account before searching. It’s advisable to check the instructions before registering and choosing a username and password. You must use a computer connected to the Pitt network and enter your Pitt email address when registering. Searching SciFinder web requires that Java, JavaScript, and cookies be enabled on the computer.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
The Reaxys database provides detailed information on the reactions and properties, including bioactivities, of millions of chemical substances, along with chemical catalog information and literature references. Specialty features such as structure and reaction searching are included.

Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References
A database featuring the full text of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the three major citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Related and Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases contain much chemical information, but do not focus on chemistry.

Academic Search Premier
Biosis Previews
MathSciNet
MathSciNet covers Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
MEDLINE (ISI Web of Science)

ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
ProceedingsFirst offers tables of contents from worldwide conferences, professional meetings and symposia; lists papers presented at those meetings; and provides an overview of the activities at such meetings.

PubMed Central
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Full-Text Journal Databases

American Chemical Society ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 40 ACS journals, covering chemical biology, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, and more.

American Institute of Physics (AIP) - Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.
American Physical Society (APS) - Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.
Annual Reviews (AnRev) - Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.
Cambridge University Press (CUP) - Electronic Journals
Ingenta Connect
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.
Institute of Physics (IOP) - Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.
JSTOR
Oxford University Press (OUP) - Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

SpringerLink
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer.
Wiley InterScience (WIL) - Electronic Journals
Full-text access to this publisher's collection of journals.

Liaison Librarian

Margarete Bower

Email Me

Contact:

Bevier Science & Engineering Library

G-33 Benedum Hall

412-624-3714

Subjects: Bioethics, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, History & Philosophy of Science, Neuroscience, Statistics

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Chemistry Databases: Home