Find Journal Articles - Education Research - Oakland Campus

How do I Find Articles . .

If you’re looking for articles on a topic, search an Article Database.

Databases are collections of articles that you can search by topic or subject. Find a specific database in the Databases A-Z list, or if you’re not sure which database to search, use the Subject drop-down list to narrow by subject. If you need help, ask a librarian for guidance by chatting online at Ask Us.

If you have a citation to an article, search PittCat.

PittCat will list all the journals we subscribe to either online or in paper. If the journal is online, the PittCat record will offer a link directly to the journal database. If the ULS doesn’t subscribe to the journal online, PittCat will list any paper volumes and issues we have of that journal.

Try the Journal search

You can search by the journal title to find out if we have a particular journal online. Remember that not all journals or issues of journals are available online. To see if we have a journal either online or in paper, search PittCat for the journal title.

If we don’t have the journal or article you need, request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan.

ERIC & Educational Resources

ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national database of education literature. ERIC covers educational research and literature from 1963 to present, as well as important practitioner materials and news sources.

Descriptors are disciplinary terms the ERIC database creators use to identify the major topics covered within a particular article, book or item. Descriptors can suggest other keywords you can use in your searching, or identify a more exact disciplinary term for the concepts you are seeking.

Create complex searches by combining multiple keywords. Once you decide on your keywords, you can combine them to create focused complex searches.

Field Searching: Full ERIC records are made up of field of information -- the title of the item is listed in the Title field, the author’s name is listed in the Author field, etc. You can use these fields when you search by focusing your search for a term to a particular informational field. For instance, if you wanted articles by Benjamin Spock, you could search for Spock in AU Author field. This will give you results where Spock is an author.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2.3 million entries, PQDT is the database of record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Over 60,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments.
Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education is the leading typology of American colleges and universities. It is the framework in which institutional diversity in U.S. higher education is commonly described.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of all document types, including journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. The database is international in scope.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, etc) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to three broad subject collections: Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is an excellent resource for seeking educational materials within related subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Education Research - Oakland Campus

Websites

How do I Find Articles . .

ERIC & Educational Resources