Items in academic databases are categorized by set of terms and phrases called subject headings. Searching these can be more efficient than keywords.
To use subject headings in Business Source Complete, conduct a keyword search.
On the left of the search results, use the Subject: Thesaurus Term box to select a relevant subject heading (or more).
This will refine your existing search so that the only results that display also have the selected subject heading.
To find articles on topics like macroeconomics, inflation rates, exchange rates, recession, import/export tariffs, try them as keywords. In the box below, you will find relevant databases for finding articles within both business and economics.
Structure your searches like this: [company name/industry descriptor] + [keyword] or Argentina AND [keyword]
Databases can be effective to search because they allow you to search hundreds or thousands of journals, trade publications, and news articles at the same time. Some suggestions for databases that include articles on SCM are below.
Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
This link uses the Business Searching Interface which provides easy access to full text company financial data, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
If you would like to access the content of Business Source Complete through the traditional EBSCOhost interface, click here.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
Databases for Economics Research
EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
*Effective 12/31/26, this resource will no longer be accessible. Please contact Ask Us or your subject specialist for assistance on finding replacement resources to search.
Source created to look up terms and concepts related to economics written by experts with up to date content.
You might want to find case studies about specific companies and SCM (like Macy's and how they are using SCM for retail) or specific topics within SCM (like RFID systems).
You can use the following resources to try and find some of these case studies.
Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
This link uses the Business Searching Interface which provides easy access to full text company financial data, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
If you would like to access the content of Business Source Complete through the traditional EBSCOhost interface, click here.
