Skip to main content

United Nations Documents & Publications - Oakland Campus: Common UN Questions

This guide is designed to help library users to find United Nations materials in Hillman Library and on the web.

Some Common UN Questions


 

 How can I find UN materials on a specific subject?

A good first step in locating United Nations materials at Pitt is to search for them in PITTCat+, the online catalog of the ULS. Try doing a search using the term United Nations, and then adding other keywords relevant to your topic.

UNBISnet is the catalog of materials indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva; we have many of the titles listed there in our collection at Pitt. This database also provides access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN. You can search the Bibliographic Records section by keyword, author, title, etc.

Pitt affiliates can use AccessUN to search for UN documents and publications. In addition to citations, AccessUN provides full text of resolutions and some other document series. At the Hillman Service Desk we keep a CD-ROM version of this database, the Index to United Nations Documents and Publications (1948-October 2002), which can be used by anyone who visits Hillman Library.

The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) provides full text of UN parliamentary documents and official records since 1993, with selected earlier coverage, and includes resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, and the Trusteeship Council since 1946.

Back to top


 

How can I find UN resolutions?

UNBISnet indexes and links to the full text of resolutions of the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, Security Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946. Resolutions and decisions can be found by doing a Keyword Search under Bibliographic Records, entering a limit of "Type of Material: [B01]" for resolutions/decisions or "Type of Material: [B02]" for draft resolutions/decisions, and then entering subject, topical subject, author, or title keywords. (See also Dag Hammarskjöld Library's Research Guide on How to Find UN Resolutions.)


Both the United Nations Documents webpage and the Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research Guides:UN Documentation: Overview: Resolutions & Decisions webpage provide access to the full text of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council since 1946. In each case, resolutions are listed by year and number.

 
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) includes full text of all resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946.


AccessUN, available to Pitt users, indexes resolutions and decisions and supplies the full text of all resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council and the Economic and Social Council. When searching AccessUN for resolutions, search for "res" in the document number.

Back to top


 

How can I find the text of speeches before the General Assembly or Security Council?

The Index to speeches section of UNBISnet provides citations and full text of speeches in the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983), the Security Council beginning with its 38th year (1983), the Economic and Social Council beginning in 1983 and the Trusteeship Council beginning with its 15th special session (1982).

The AccessUN​ database, available to Pitt users, provides citations and some full text of speeches. Search by author (the speaker's name), specifying "Official Record" as the document type.

Back to top


 

How can I find voting records for UN resolutions?

 

With UNBISnet Voting Records you can retrieve voting records for all resolutions adopted by the General Assembly and Security Council. See also the UN research guides General Assembly: Voting Information and Security Council: Voting Information as well as Voting Practices in the United Nations (U.S. Department of State, 2000-present).

Back to top


How can I find treaties?

 

United Nations Treaty Collection database contains the full text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the current version of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties.

 

Back to top

Liaison Librarian

Christopher Lemery's picture
Christopher Lemery
Contact:
207E Hillman Library
412-648-3925