Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Multimedia Database Tools for Faculty @ Pitt

A guide to the multimedia tools of databases for personal and online classroom use.

Artstor

Artstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data. Images are international in scope and coverage includes a wide variety of civilizations, time-periods and media.

Create an account to save groups of images and share them with your students.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art online is a portal for encyclopedia articles and images of art that offers you the ability to acesss and cross-search searches across four art reference resources: 

  • Grove Art Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

Art Full Text

Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Open Access Images