Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

Finding Maps - Pittsburgh Campus: Pitt Map Collections

This guide provides information on the map resources available in the University Library System and on the web.

Our Map Collection

The University Library System map collection contains a wide variety of maps:

  • General maps such as historical, thematic, and road maps. This group includes maps published by the National Geographic Society and the Army Map Service and Defense Mapping Agency.
  • Government Publications maps received from the U.S. government through the Federal Depository Library Program. These include CIA maps, Census maps, forestry maps, and maps from various other government agencies.
  • Our USGS Topographic Maps, also received through the depository program, provide detailed topographic coverage in various scales for the entire U.S.
  • In addition to all of these paper maps, we have geographic data available through the GIS Service Center.

Location of our Map Collection

The University Library System map collection is housed at the Thomas Blvd Library. Individual maps which are cataloged in PittCat may be requested for delivery to Hillman Library. Maps are also available for viewing at ULS-Thomas Boulevard by arrangement. Please contact Boris Michev at bom17@pitt.edu. 

PittCat and the Map Card Catalog

Searching for maps using PittCat.

All maps in our collection published since 1996 and many older maps are listed in our online catalog, PittCat.

To find maps you can select advanced search by clicking advanced search next to the search bar. (On some devices it can be found by clicking on the three horizontal lines on the right side of the screen.) Enter information about the location that interests you and the word "map". In addition to finding maps in the Map Collection, this will also give you a list of relevant travel books, atlases, and other books containing maps.

On the same page you can also choose to limit your search to Library Catalog.

From the Advanced Search or any Simple Search, you can narrow your results to the Map Resource Type. To do this, click the arrow next to Resource Type, click the Maps checkbox and then click Apply Filters. 

 

Pre-1980s Maps

Some of our older maps (mostly 1980s and earlier) are not listed in PittCat, but are listed in a physical card catalog. Please contact Boris Michev at bom17@pitt.edu for questions about whether we have any particular maps.