Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Other Guides of Interest @ Pitt
This guide will assist patrons in finding map resources in the University of Pittsburgh Libraries and elsewhere. Please use the links in the box below or in the tab above to find map resources.
Useful Websites and Databases for Finding Maps
Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new window
(Pitt users only) A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world. You can search by the name of the place, type of place, or for any word in the database.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
(Pitt users only) CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
(Pitt users only) The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Historic Pittsburgh This link opens in a new window
Most of the materials in Historic Pittsburgh's Full-Text Collection were published or produced before the early 1920s and are out of print or not readily accessible. Click the "maps" tab to access the collection's maps.