The records of the Order Italian Sons and Daughters of America document the Fraternal and social organization of Italian Americans founded in 1930 in Pittsburgh by individuals who had been expelled or were former members of the Order Sons of Italy of America, Grand Lodge. The records contain applications for admission, mortuary fund files, application for loans, membership roll books, correspondence, financial records, convention books and minutes.

The increase in Italian immigrants in Leechburg, PA and their growing need for a social and mutual benefits society resulted in the formation of the Societa Guglielmo di Mutuo Soccorso (William Marconi Lodge of Mutual Benefit) in February 1911. The records span the years 1911-1979, in which there are minutes books for this entire period. Additional records include constitution and by-laws, legal papers, anniversary programs, name lists, and correspondence.

The Ethnic Fraternal Organizations Oral History Project consists of taperecorded oral interviews from a project conducted by the University of Pittsburgh Department of History which explores the roles and influences of ethnic fraternal organizations in the Jewish, Black, Croatian, Italian, Polish and other ethnic communities in the Pittsburgh area.

This collection contains sound recordings of Italian popular music in various formats that were collected by Sal Patitucci and used by him in his Radio Italia with Sal Patitucci program, which first broadcast over WKPA radio in New Kensington, PA.In the 1970s, Sal's radio program expanded, being broadcast over WDUQ-FM, WEDO-AM, and WYEP, among others. His radio program aired six-days per week in the U.S., the only Italian language program to do so.

The Papers of Luigia Clerici consist of a collection of handwritten notebooks and workbooks in Italian, describing methods of instruction and curriculum in the schools of Bologna, Italy, in the 1890's.

An Italian probabilist and statistician noted for the "operational subjective" conception of probability, de Finetti provided significant contributions to the theory and the foundations of probability; his work laid the foundation for the modern subjectivist interpretation of probability (1924-2000).

The Joe Negri Collection contains the original scores, notes, and sound recordings documenting Joe Negri's career from his earliest days performing with his brother, through his years at then Carnegie Tech, up to his current work as a jazz guitarist.

Irma Manella D'Ascenzo was a politician and civic leader who served as the first female Pittsburgh City Council member between 1956-1970.

The papers of Ruth Crawford Mitchell center primarily on her life-long interest in immigrants in the United States, including Italian immigrants. This arises in the collection in the form of two studies, one on second-generation students of foreign descent and another on the nativity of Pitt students. The Nativity Study takes up the bulk of the collection and includes the three bound volumes which make up the summary of the study. The remainder of the Nativity Study includes reports, raw data, tables and information on individual students.

ULS Thomas Blvd Microform

Online access via Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: 08/08/1914 to 10/22/1921
ULS Thomas Blvd Microform: 1914:8:8-1921:10:22

ULS Thomas Blvd Microform and Journals

In 1927, the Italian community in Allegheny County was one of the first approached with the idea of designing a room to honor their heritage in the University of Pittsburgh's Cathedral of Learning. After years of fundraising and planning, the room was presented to the university on December 11, 1940, and was formally dedicated on May 14, 1949. This collection contains documents and photographs regarding the creation, funding and dedication of the Italian Nationality Room.