Guides: European Union Information @ Pitt: EU-Related Resources

The journals, databases, and links on this page are not published by the EU, but they may discuss EU-related issues. Most of these resources are available to Pitt affiliates only.

Journals of Interest

Below are just a few of the journals which discuss issues relating to the European Union.

European Foreign Affairs Review
ISSN: 1384-6299
European Journal of Political Research
ISSN: 0304-4130
European Union Politics
ISSN: 1465-1165
Journal of Common Market Studies
ISSN: 0021-9886
Journal of Contemporary European Research
Journal of European Integration
ISSN: 1477-2280
Journal of European Public Policy
ISSN: 1350-1763

Other International Organizations

Council of Europe
A sister organization to the EU (but not formally part of the EU), it consists of 47 European countries. It focuses on issues related to health, society, media, democracy, and education. Not to be confused with the European Council or Council of the European Union.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF provides access to the social and economic statuses of the countries around the world.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) promotes policies to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
United Nations (UN)
The United Nations provides an abundance of information - from statistics and demographic information to treaties and map - through their website.
World Bank
The World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.

Library Databases

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. The database includes detailed surveys of over 250 countries and territories, a comprehensive listing of over 1,650 international organizations, access to the very latest statistics, directory information and current analysis.
European Sources Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of resources that provide information about the European Union. There are informative sections on each of the organizations within the EU, the text of official documents, plus analysis and related news articles.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is your complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Note: Creation of a Personal Account is required to fully access all ICPSR features.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library that provides online access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It is a trusted source for scholarly research and provides access to over 6,000 academic journals, more than 2 million images, and over a thousand books. The platform has a user-friendly interface that makes it easy to search and access high-quality, peer-reviewed content. JSTOR also features advanced tools for research and discovery, including citation analysis and alerts for new content. It is a valuable resource for scholars, students, and researchers in the academic community.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. The OECD consists of 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. With active relationships with some 70 other countries, NGOs and civil society, it has a global reach. Best known for its publications and its statistics, its work covers economic and social issues.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Since its establishment in 1914, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) has chronicled issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources. The PAIS Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all public policy issues and it draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Primary index to United Nations documentation published since 1979 (or earlier for selected major documents) and indexed by the Dag Hammarskjold Library or the Library of the UN Office in Geneva. It includes the catalogue of the non-UN collections of both libraries and also provides access to detailed voting records of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly and the Security Council.
United Nations Official Document System (ODS) This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) supplies copies of documents published by the United Nations. Full text is available for all documents published since 1993 and select documents published from 1946-1993.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

News & Analysis

Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS)
CEPS is a leading think tank and forum for debate on EU affairs, with an exceptionally strong in-house research capacity and an extensive network of partner institutes throughout the world
EU Observer
EUobserver is a not-for-profit, independent online newspaper which focuses on EU-related issues. Some articles are accessible only to paid subscribers.
Euractiv
EURACTIV is an independent pan-European media network which features news and analysis on EU policies.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

European Union Information @ Pitt

Liaison Librarian

Journals of Interest

Other International Organizations

Library Databases

News & Analysis