Home - History of the English Language - Greensburg Campus

Acknowledgement

This LibGuide was created in collaboration with Pitt-Greensburg alumna, Deidre Stuffer, an avid tea drinker and lover of early modern typography, who is pursuing graduate study in English Literature at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. When she was Professor Greenfield's research assistant, she spent roughly ten hours each week transcribing Shakespearean allusions from facsimiles in ECCO, EEBO, and Burney.

History of the English Language - Greensburg Campus

For this course, you are required to write a 5-page research paper about the origin and evolution of a word of your choosing. In order to successfully create and support a thesis statement, you will need to use many of the Library's online resources. This LibGuide is intended to help serve as a research gateway for this assignment.

Definition of acronyms:

OED = The Oxford English Dictionary

EEBO = Early English Books Online

ECCO = Eighteenth Century Collections Online

NCCO = Nineteenth Century Collections Online

USING THIS GUIDE: I recommend that you use the tabs in the order that they are arranged. You should start with the OED tab, then move to the EEBO tab, and then to Artemis, etc. Each tab builds on the one prior to it.

Please don't forget that you may always ask a librarian for help!

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This mammoth dictionary includes English language words from 1150 CE to the present day.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books seeks to be a comprehensive collection of all books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the English language in any country from earliest times through 1700. This includes books on philosophy, religion, science, politics, exploration and poetry, prose and drama. Contains over 96,000 titles -- 230 years of English printing.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
21 primary source collections are cross-searchable, including NCCO, ECCO, 19th century British and U.S. newspapers, the Economist, Daily Mail, Illustrated London, Financial Times and the (London) Times archives.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online digitally captures this influential period and provides new research opportunities in ways previously unavailable. Eighteenth Century Collections Online includes a variety of materials -- from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements -- and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content. Collection is in both Western and non-Western languages.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) collection represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Collection includes newspapers, pamphlets and books of approximately 1,270 titles.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes British national and regional newspapers between 1732-1950 including those from the Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention is given to newspapers that helped lead particular political and social movements like Home Rule.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) This link opens in a new window
Early American Newspapers features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820".
National Newspapers (Current) (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers via ProQuest provides current full text access to some popular publications like Christian Science Monitor and the New York Times.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

History of the English Language - Greensburg Campus

Your Librarian

Acknowledgement

History of the English Language - Greensburg Campus