Asia and the West - This resource allows scholars to explore in detail the history of British and US foreign policy and diplomacy; Asian political, economic, and social affairs; the Philippine Insurrection; the Opium Wars; the Boxer Rebellion; missionary activity in Asia; and other topics. Asia and the West also includes personal letters and diaries, offering first-hand accounts and the human side of international politics, as well as nautical charts, maps, ledgers, company records, and expedition and survey reports from 1790 to 1949.
British Politics and Society - includes tens of thousands of primary sources related to the political climate in Great Britain during the "long" nineteenth century, covering approximately 1749 to 1984. Invaluable for historical scholarship, the archive includes a range of rare works that offer new avenues for research.
British Theatre, Music and Literature - (formerly known as British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture) features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. Interest in the arts became big business in the Victorian era, as a burgeoning middle class became patrons. This archive includes thousands of invaluable primary sources -- including original, signed works -- that explore Victorian popular culture, bloods and penny dreadfuls, music, the history of the English stage, and more.
Children's Literature and Childhood - Multidisciplinary in nature, Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Children's Literature and Childhood provides insights into societal values, interests, and education of the nineteenth century and supports the growing academic interest in this time period.
European Literature, the Corvey Collection 1790-1840 - The Corvey library was built during the last half of the 19th century by Victor and his wife Elise, both bibliophiles with varied interests. The collection thus contains everything from novels and short stories to belles lettres and more populist works, and includes many exceedingly rare works not available in any other collection from the period. These invaluable, sometimes previously unknown works are of particular interest to scholars and researchers.
Europe and Africa Colonialism and Culture - delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy to support research in this interdisciplinary area of study of Europe and Africa.
Maps and Travel Literature - presents unique insight into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel, spotlighting a distinguished array of historical atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives, and a variety of maps, The materials focus on travel and exploration during the nineteenth century, including myriad sketch maps created during colonial exploration and expansion. Maps, historic atlases, and gazetteers offer unique city, town, and country information first used by the nineteenth century traveler, providing a window into the Age of Imperialism and the burgeoning middle classes.
Photography - collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books, and texts on the early history of photography found in libraries and archives across the globe. The nineteenth century was about changes in family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel -- all this is captured in photographs.
Religion, Reform, and Society - examines the influence of both faith and skepticism on the shaping of many aspects of society, including politics, law, economics, and social and radical reform movements. In the nineteenth century, the intellectual work of Comte, Marx, Weber, Darwin, Freud, and others unleashed secularizing impulses that gave rise to both new humanist religious projects and new faith-based social reform movements.
