Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Ebooks @ Pitt

This guide describes the many ebook resources available through the University Library System and how to access them.

Device Help

Get tech support for your e-reader device.

Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions software allows you to view and manage eBooks and other digital publications, including industry-standard eBook formats, PDF/A and EPUB.

Use it to download and purchase digital content, which can be read both online and offline. Transfer copy-protected eBooks from your personal computer to other computers or devices.

Accessing Ebooks From Off Campus

Remember that to access these books, you have to log in for remote access (when prompted).

Having trouble with remote access?

If you encounter a broken link or cannot get into a resource, you can do a few things first to make sure that there really is a problem.

  1. Reload the page
  2. Make sure you have configured your browser to accept cookies
  3. Wait a few minutes and try again. For some resources we have a limited number of simultaneous users. When the maximum number of users are logged in, you could be denied access.
  4. Change to a different browser and/or computer
  5. You may be prompted for a username and password when none is required. Please wait a few minutes and try again.

Compatible E-Readers and Wireless Devices, Downloading, Best Browsers, & Restrictions

 There are a number of portable devices that are compatible with Pitt's ebook collections. Refer to the chart below to see if your particular device is supported, whether the collection has downloadable content, which browser is best for viewing, and any use of content restrictions.

Pitt's Ebook Collections

Compatible Device

Downloadable Content

Restrictions

ProQuest Ebook Central

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting of up to 30% of the book per site visit (page number depends on publisher agreement); NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting. Complete book downloading through Adobe Digital Editions (with a personal sign-in) for 2 weeks, viewable on most devices (not compatible with Kindle).

Help from the vendor: http://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral

 

 

Limited number of viewers for select individual titles; Unlimited number of viewers for titles in the Academic Complete Collection. Download  individual publisher-specified limits for pages via "Print to PDF." (There is a very wide range.) No sign-in required.

Entire book download through Adobe Digital Editions for 2 weeks. Personal sign-in required.

EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)

Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting of up to 60 pages (page number depends on publisher agreement).

 

Entire books not downloadable.

Download/Print up to 60 pages at a time via PDF (varies by individual publisher-specified limits.)

1. Click on ebook full text. 2. Select the the Save Option to make a PDF. 3. Select page numbers. 4. Click Save. 5. Save file to read or print it.

(Does not require a personal EBSCO sign-in.)

Safari Tech Books Online

Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database.

 

Page-by-page printing and emailing.

HathiTrust Digital Library

Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports whole book PDF download.

 

PDF Download available at the book level.

1. From the HathiTrust homepage, click on the yellow login.
2. Select University of Pittsburgh and click continue.
3. Enter your Pitt username and password and click Login.
4. Now you will be authenticated as a Pitt user.
5. Search. Click 'Download whole book (PDF)' (if available) and the PDF will be created for you (this could take a moment).
 

OverDrive

OverDrive downloads are compatible on many devices including Windows/Mac personal computers, cellphones with Android, Kindle, iPhones/iPads, NOOK, Blackberry, Windows Mobile and more. Check the OverDrive Device Resource Center for your device.

 

Limited check out rate. See borrowing policies for more information. Please note: The Kindle device does not support enterprise security for wi-fi, which Pittnet requires, so users cannot complete the final step of getting the book from their Amazon account to the Kindle itself on Pitt’s network. They can do this from most other open wi-fi networks or their home wi-fi.

Springer eBooks

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting and downloading. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.

 

N/A

ScienceDirect eBooks

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting and downloading. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.

 

N/A

PsycBOOKS

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting and downloading. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.

 

N/A

ACLS Humanities E-Book

Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database.

 

Only allows printing for three pages at a time.

All eReference databases are only compatible with desktops and laptops.

 

You can also use some portable devices with free ebooks that are available on the web. Check below to see if your portable device is compatible.

Free Ebooks on the Web

Compatible Device

Downloadable Content

Restrictions

Google Books

Supports PDF formatting. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF of books in the public domain.

 

Only books in the public domain can be read or downloaded in their entirety.

World Digital Library

Supports PDF formatting. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting

 

N/A

Internet Archive

Supports PDF and Epub formatting.

 

N/A

Bartleby.com

Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database.

 

Limited number of books available to download in PDF format.

Open Library

Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database.

 

Books can be read online or downloaded in PDF, plain text, DAISY, ePub, DjVu, MOBI, or sent to Kindle.

Project Gutenberg

All ebooks can be read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable devices. You can choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.

 

Only public domain books are available.