Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

Ebooks @ Pitt

This guide describes the many ebook resources available through the University Library System and how to access them.

Compatible E-Readers and Wireless Devices, Downloading, Best Browsers, & Restrictions

There are a number of portable devices that are compatible with Pitt's ebook collections. Refer to the chart below to see if your particular device is supported, whether the collection has downloadable content, which browser is best for viewing, and any use of content restrictions.

All eReference databases are only compatible with desktops and laptops.

Pitt's Ebook Collections

Compatible Devices          

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting of up to 30% of the book per site visit (page number depends on publisher agreement); NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting. Complete book downloading through Adobe Digital Editions (with a personal sign-in) for 2 weeks, viewable on most devices (not compatible with Kindle).

Help from the vendor: http://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

Limited number of viewers for select individual titles; Unlimited number of viewers for titles in the Academic Complete Collection. Download  individual publisher-specified limits for pages via "Print to PDF." (There is a very wide range.) No sign-in required.

Entire book download through Adobe Digital Editions for 2 weeks. Personal sign-in required.
Compatible Devices           Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting of up to 60 pages (page number depends on publisher agreement).
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

Entire books not downloadable.

Download/Print up to 60 pages at a time via PDF (varies by individual publisher-specified limits.)

1. Click on ebook full text. 2. Select the the Save Option to make a PDF. 3. Select page numbers. 4. Click Save. 5. Save file to read or print it.

(Does not require a personal EBSCO sign-in.)

 

Compatible Devices           Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports whole book PDF download.
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

PDF Download available at the book level.

1. From the HathiTrust homepage, click on the yellow login.
2. Select University of Pittsburgh and click continue.
3. Enter your Pitt username and password and click Login.
4. Now you will be authenticated as a Pitt user.
5. Search. Click 'Download whole book (PDF)' (if available) and the PDF will be created for you (this could take a moment).
Compatible Devices          

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting and downloading. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

N/A
Compatible Devices          

OverDrive downloads are compatible on many devices including Windows/Mac personal computers, cellphones with Android, Kindle, iPhones/iPads, NOOK, Blackberry, Windows Mobile and more.

Check the OverDrive Device Resource Center for your device.
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

Limited check out rate. See borrowing policies for more information.

Please note: The Kindle device does not support enterprise security for wi-fi, which Pittnet requires, so users cannot complete the final step of getting the book from their Amazon account to the Kindle itself on Pitt’s network. They can do this from most other open wi-fi networks or their home wi-fi.
Compatible Devices          

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting and downloading. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

N/A
Compatible Devices          

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting and downloading. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.
Downloadable      
Restrictions

N/A

 

Compatible Devices          

Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database.
Downloadable      
Restrictions


Only allows printing for three pages at a time.

 

Compatible Devices          

Desktops and laptops are compatible with this database. Supports PDF formatting and downloading. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.
Downloadable      
Restrictions

Page-by-page printing and emailing.

Free Ebooks on the Web

Compatible Devices           Supports PDF formatting. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF of books in the public domain.
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

Only books in the public domain can be read or downloaded in their entirety.
Compatible Devices           Supports PDF formatting. The NOOK, Kindle, and Sony eReaders and some smart phone applications all support PDF formatting.
Downloadable      
Restrictions 

N/A
Compatible Devices Supports PDF and Epub formatting.
Downloadable  
Restrictions

N/A
Compatible Devices Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database.
Downloadable  
Restrictions

Books can be read online or downloaded in PDF, plain text, DAISY, ePub, DjVu, MOBI, or sent to Kindle.
Compatible Devices All ebooks can be read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable devices. You can choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.
Downloadable  
Restrictions

Only public domain books are available.
Compatible Devices Only desktops and laptops are compatible with this database.
Downloadable  
Restrictions Limited number of books available to download in PDF format.