Skip to Main Content

Course & Subject Guides

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility - Bradford Campus

This guide contains resources in support of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Hanley Library's Open Interdisciplinary Book Display

An Open Interdisciplinary Book Display and Collection

The Open Interdisciplinary Display is a thoughtfully curated collection with books available for checkout. The featured collection is based on national, regional, and campus celebrations and programs. Each sub-page and the tabs within contain a collection of books curated around topics.

January and February 2022 - Social Justice Week and BHM 2022

  • This open display collection was based on Hanley's National Day of Racial Healing virtual event, "Unity Through Dialogue and Healing," a Social Justice Week event, which honors and celebrates Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, and Black History Month's theme of Black Health and Wellness.

March 2022 - Women's History Month, "Women Providing Healing, Promoting Hope" Collection

  • "The 2022 Women’s History theme, “Providing Healing, Promoting Hope,” is both a tribute to the ceaseless work of caregivers and frontline workers during this ongoing pandemic and also a recognition of the thousands of ways that women of all cultures have provided both healing and hope throughout history" (NWHA, 2021). 

September 2022 - Latinx and Hispanic Heritage, "Unidos: Inclusivity for a Stronger Nation" Collection

  • "From September 15 to October 15 each year, Americans observe National [Latinx] Hispanic Heritage Month, a time to celebrate the achievements, histories, traditions, and cultural diversity of Hispanic/Latino/Latinx Americans whose heritage is rooted in 20 Latin American countries and territories." (NECHPM, 2022).

November 2022 - Native American Heritage Month, "We Are Still Here"

  • "The month is a time to celebrate rich and diverse cultures, traditions, and histories and to acknowledge the important contributions of Native people. Heritage Month is also an opportune time to educate the general public about tribes, to raise general awareness about the unique challenges Native people have faced both historically and in the present, and the ways in which tribal citizens have worked to conquer these challenges" (National Congress of American Indians, "Native American Heritage Month")

January and February 2023 - Social Justice Week and BHM 2023

  • This open display collection was based on Hanley's National Day of Racial Healing virtual event, "Service and Solidarity," a part of Social Justice Week, which honors and celebrates Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, and Black History Month's theme of Black Resistance Through the Arts.