Guides: The Underground Press @ Archives &amp; Special Collections: Feminist Press

Feminist Publications

Feminist Publications
This document provides a complete listing of the feminist publications contained in the Department of Special Collections.

Local Publications

Allegheny Feminist (Network News)

Created by the Pittsburgh Feminist Network in 1976
Provided a communications medium for feminist activists

Focus

Monthly newsletter of the Slippery Rock Women's Studies Program

KNOW News

Attempted to connect various feminist news outlets
Provided lists of feminist publications and how to obtain them

The Lily

Newsletter of Bloomer's, a feminist bar in Pittsburgh's Southside

Motheroot Journal

Reviewed independently published feminist books

PAAR-spectives

Newsletter of Pittsburgh Action Against Rape
First published in the mid 1970s

Pennsylvania NOW Times

Official state-level newsletter of the National Organization for Women in Pennsylvania

Pittsburgh Woman

Pittsburgh women's newspaper
Dedicated to Jane Grey Cannon Swisshelm, a Pittsburgh native and one of the nation's first female political journalists

Successful Women

A lifestyle newspaper dedicated to women's empowerment

Synthesis

Newsletter of the University of Pittsburgh's Women's Studies Program, Women's Center, and Undergraduate Women's Union

Woman Becoming

Feminist literary magazine
First published in 1972

The Feminist Press

The Feminist Press was largely concerned with the development of the women's liberation movement in the 60s and 70s and eventually grew into a more diffuse network of activists concerned with female empowerment, gender equality, and the abolition of oppressive patriarchal structures. A great deal of the feminist publications contained in Special Collections are indeed underground publications, but some titles (such as Ms.) would not fall into this category. They are included here, however, to present a more comprehensive view of the publishing history of the feminist movement.

See tumblr posts about this collection below.

Cover of Vol. II No. 7 issue of Off Our Backs

Cover of Vol. VI No. 4 issue of Broomstick

Cover of Vol. 1 No. 3 issue of Womanspirit

Secondary Sources

Mixed Media by Simone Murray
Publication Date: 2004-02-20
Mixed Media is the first book about the feminist press movement which transformed the publishing industry, literary culture and educational curricula during the last quarter of the 20th century. It is both a survey of the movement internationally and a detailed critique of its long-term impact.
Contesting Archives by Nupur Chaudhuri (Editor); Sherry J. Katz (Editor); Mary Elizabeth Perry (Editor); Antoinette Burton (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2010-06-09
The contributors of Contesting Archives challenge the assumption that an archive is a neutral, immutable, and a historical repository of information. Instead, these historians view it as a place where decisions are made about whose documents--and therefore whose history--is important. Finding that women's voices and their texts were often obscured or lost altogether, they have developed many new methodologies for creating unique archives and uncovering more evidence by reading documents "against the grain," weaving together many layers of information to reveal complexities and working collectively to reconstruct the lives of women in the past.

Additional Resources

In Sisterhood
In Sisterhood: the Women’s Movement in Pittsburgh©, 1967-1989, is an oral history and multimedia project designed to promote a deeper understanding and appreciation of an inspiring aspect of the region’s history and to highlight how progress was achieved through the hard work and determination of a diverse group of local grassroots activists.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

The Underground Press @ Archives & Special Collections: Feminist Press

Feminist Publications

Local Publications

The Feminist Press

Secondary Sources

Additional Resources