Guides: The Underground Press @ Archives &amp; Special Collections: Student Press

Student Publications

Student Publications
This document provides a complete listing of the student publications contained in the Department of Special Collections.

Local Publications

Henderson Station

1971-1972
Published by the State College Free Press, State College, PA
Focused on antiwar activism, advocated for an end to the war in Vietnam, and publicized a variety of nonviolent tactics to oppose the war

The Water Tunnel

1969-1971
Published by the State College Free Press, State College, PA
Focused on radical politics and the growing student movement at Penn State

Additional Resources

Carlow Chronicle
The Carlow Chronicle is the student-produced newspaper of Carlow University
The Communiqué
The Communiqué is the student paper of Chatham University
The Duquesne Duke
Duquesne University's student-led newspaper
The Globe
Point Park’s independently run student newspaper
Pitt News
The University of Pittsburgh's Daily Student Newspaper
The Tartan
Carnegie Mellon's Student Newspaper

Pittsburgh & Regional Newspapers

Campus Student Publications
A guide to the local newspaper holdings of Hillman Library.

The Student Press

Despite all being written from the perspective of students, the Student Press is a surprisingly diverse set of publications. Throughout the 60s and 70s these papers were primarily produced by college students on campuses across the country, however, papers were also produced by high school students (such as I'm All Right from Pittsburgh) and even life long learners (such as The Free You from Menlo Park, CA). These papers were often aimed at educating their fellow students, encouraging and supporting on campus activism, and helping to create networks of movers and shakers within their communities.

Cover of Vol. 5 No. 10 issue of Movement

Cover of Vol. 4 No. 3 issue of The Water Tunnel

Cover of Vol. 1 No. 4 issue of I'm All Right

Secondary Sources

When the Old Left Was Young by Robert Cohen
Publication Date: 1993-04-29
The Depression era saw the first mass student movement in American history. The crusade, led in large part by young Communists, was both an anti-war campaign and a movement championing a broader and more egalitarian vision of the welfare state than that of the New Dealers.
Sitting in and Speaking Out by Jeffrey A. Turner
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
In Sitting In and Speaking Out, Jeffrey A. Turner examines student movements in the South to grasp the nature of activism in the region during the turbulent 1960s. Turner argues that the story of student activism is too often focused on national groups like Students for a Democratic Society and events at schools like Columbia University and the University of California at Berkeley. Based on primary research at more than twenty public and private institutions in the deep and upper South, including historically black schools, Sitting In and Speaking Out is a wide-ranging and sensitive portrait of southern students navigating a remarkably dynamic era.

Archives Service Center

Pitt Student Publications
The University Archives tries to collect all the student-edited publications of the University. Included here are the Pitt News, The Owl and Panther Prints yearbooks, Pittsburgh Undergraduate Review, Three Rivers Review, and many others. These titles are cataloged in PittCat and located in the Archives Service Center. Some of these titles are available online on the Documenting Pitt website or will be available in the future.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

The Underground Press @ Archives & Special Collections: Student Press