Guides: The Underground Press @ Archives &amp; Special Collections: Socialist Press

Socialist Publications

Socialist Publications
This document provides a complete listing of the socialist publications contained in the Department of Special Collections.

Additional Resources

American Left Ephemera Collection
The collection emphasizes ephemeral items (i.e., made for one time or brief usage and then likely to be discarded) from the 1890s to the present and includes periodicals, photographs, letters, pamphlets, books, posters, flyers, labels, pins and other objects. While the majority of these items were produced by the Socialist Party USA (SPUSA), Communist Party USA (CPUSA), Students for a Democratic Society (SDS), or organizations linked to them, the collection also includes material from a wide variety of other organizations and movements as well as from unaffiliated activists and radical intellectuals. The collection now resides at the University's Archives Service Center.
Marxist Internet Archive
The Marxists Internet Archive (MIA, http://www.marxists.org/) is an all-volunteer, non-profit public library, started more than 20 years ago in 1990. MIA contains the writings of 592 authors representing a complete spectrum of political, philosophical, and scientific thought, generally spanning the past 200 years. MIA contains these writings in 45 different languages, comprising a total size of over 53,000 documents and 29 GB of data, all created through the work of volunteers around the world.

The Socialist Press

The Socialist Press was obviously primarily concerned with class relations throughout the protest movement of the 60s and 70s but many of these papers continued publication well into the 80s. Cold War attitudes, however, kept such ideas at the fringes of the political arena and kept many of these papers underground. Special Collections holds a variety of socialist papers. These range from regional papers aimed at local labor relations to larger national and international papers oriented towards larger scale social change.

See tumblr posts about this collection below.

Cover of Vol. 10 No. 5 issue of The Allegheny Socialist

Cover of Vol. 2 No. 2 issue of Leviathan

Cover of September 28, 1978 issue of Workers' Power

Cover of Vol. VI No. 4 issue of New American Movement

Cover of Vol. 34 No. 36 issue of The Militant

Local Publications

Allegheny Socialist

1982-1993
Published by the Pittsburgh Chapter of Democratic Socialists of America, Pittsburgh, PA
Newsletter containing news updates, political commentary, and a calendar of events

New American Movement Pittsburgh Chapter Newsletter

1978-1981
Published by the New American Movement, Pittsburgh Chapter, Pittsburgh, PA
Newsletter containing organizational and news updates, letters, and a calendar of events

Pittsburgh Local Newsletter of the Democratic Socialists of America

1982
Published by the Pittsburgh Chapter of Democratic Socialists of America, Pittsburgh, PA
Newsletter containing news updates, political commentary, and a calendar of events

Secondary Sources

The Socialist Party of America by Jack Ross
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
The Socialist Party of America presents a new, mature understanding of America's most important minor political party of the twentieth century. Based on archival research, Jack Ross's study challenges the orthodoxies of both sides of the historiographical debate as well as assumptions about the Socialist Party in historical memory.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

The Underground Press @ Archives & Special Collections: Socialist Press

Socialist Publications

Additional Resources

The Socialist Press

Local Publications

Secondary Sources