Guides: Resources for Health Care Compliance Graduate Certificate Program: Databases

Medical & Psychological Databases

You can find other good sources on the Medicine and Nursing Databases list.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL database covers nearly 1000 English-language nursing and allied health journals. It also includes references to book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisual materials, software, dissertations, standards of professional practice and nurse practice acts.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. This database includes the Clinical Pharmacology database, providing access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of all document types, including journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. The database is international in scope.

Science Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.

News & Current Events Databases . .

These databases are excellent starting points for your research because they have something on every subject:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.

Business Databases

Try these business sources, plus others on on the Business Databases list.

The Company Research @ Pitt LibGuide walks you through researching and finding data on an individual U.S. company.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides business and financial information for over 23,000 U.S. and international companies.

Company Research @ Pitt

The Company Research @ Pitt LibGuide walks you through researching and finding data on an individual U.S. company

Suggested Legal Databases

You can find lots of article databases at our Databases by Subject page. Here are a few you can start with:

Health Law Resource Center
The Bloomberg BNA Health Law Resource Center offers in-depth, and practice-oriented news, legal analysis, and practice tools addressing important issues affecting the health care industry, in combination with full text of the statutes, regulations, agency documents and case law that health lawyers need in daily practice.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Hein Online indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories. HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Statistical Databases

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Presents mainly US census data for the nation as a whole, such as immigration statistics by country of origin or mortality rates by disease, ranging back to the 1800s.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Resources for Health Care Compliance Graduate Certificate Program: Databases

How do I Find Databases and Articles . .