Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Kubikat is a collective catalog of Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence, Max-Planck-Institut; Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte in Munich; Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte; Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck-Institut für Kunstgeschichte in Rome. Kubikat is the largest art libraries database and contains more than 1.5 million records including 800,000 articles in scholarly periodicals, conference papers, commemorative volumes and exhibition catalogs. Once you've located article citations, if fulltext isn't available via Kubikat, search PITTCat+ or place an Interlibrary Loan request.
The Medieval Page
Provides links to freely available online sources for Medieval Study.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Search by category (coins, transportation, gardens, for example) in this easy to use resource sponsored by Georgetown University.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Maintained by Fordham University, this provides a useful index to digital texts.
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
Features more than 2,000 links to Internet sites concerned with medieval resources.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
You'll find fully annotated texts of plays and poems, multimedia materials and records of plays in performance, in this easy to search resource.
Latin Place Names
Features Latin place names found in the imprints of books printed before 1801 and their vernacular equivalents. Site is co-sponsored by the Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University and the Bibliographic Standards Committee, Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
Offered in French only, this site provides access to over 80,000 text images and 4.000 images from medieval manuscripts from library collections throughout France.
Ancient World Mapping Center
This interdisciplinary research center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, and teaching.
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Diotima is an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean. Additionally, it's a forum for scholarly collaboration. This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.
Angel, the Infancy of Christ window at Chartres
The Infancy of Christ Window
Delaporte no. 2, Deremble-Manhes no. 50
Panel 25- Angel
An angel (barefoot, halo) stands holding a flowering rod and looking toward the Virgin and Child in panels 29-30. A similar angel (in mirror image) is in panel 26.
From the Chartres: Cathedral of Notre Dame Image Collection
Medieval & Renaissance Studies Databases
Early English Books Online
Early English Books seeks to be a comprehensive collection of all books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the English language in any country from earliest times through 1700. This includes books on philosophy, religion, science, politics, exploration and poetry, prose and drama. Contains over 96,000 titles -- 230 years of English printing.
This database of English verse drama begins with the late 13th century Shrewsbury Fragments and extends to the end of the 19th century. Use MED (for medieval)...REN?
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
This index includes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages (450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613) in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans travelled. Index does not include books by a single author.
Brepolis Medieval Studies
Includes International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and International Directory of Medievalists
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
*A bibliography of more than 1,047,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews from 9,757 publications, including 1,707 journals for study of the Middle Ages & the Renaissance.
The Journal Citation section is a bibliography of citations indexed from complete runs of 500+ scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The Books section is a bibliography of citations for monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays of the same time period.
Medieval Travel Writing
This extensive collection of travel writing manuscripts includes accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China as well as a collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries across Europe and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. Also contains fully searchable translations and support materials, and maps showing the routes of the travelers.
Middle English Compendium
Easy access to the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
Patrologia Latina Database
This database represents the 221 volume first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). This important resource covers philosophical and theological writings from Latin Christianity up to the year 1216.