Guides: Korean Studies Databases: Home

Related Guides & Resources

Asian Country Research @ Pitt
by Christopher Lemery Last Updated Nov 28, 2023 15220 views this year
Korean Studies Resources and Services @ Pitt
by Hiroyuki Good Last Updated Sep 27, 2023 564 views this year
North Korea Resources @ Pitt
by Hiroyuki Good Last Updated Sep 14, 2022 350 views this year
Using the Library in Korean and Searching for Korean Resources @ Pitt
by Hiroyuki Good Last Updated Sep 27, 2023 20 views this year

At a Regional Campus?

Contact your regional library for help.

Bradford Campus
Kimberly Bailey, hanold@pitt.edu
Greensburg Campus
Kelly Safin, kab309@pitt.edu
Johnstown Campus
David Kupas, dmk24@pitt.edu
Titusville Campus
Marc Ross, marcross@pitt.edu

Korean Studies Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject. They are licensed databases accessible to PITT-affiliated users only. For off-campus access, refer to EZProxy.

e-Korean Studies
E-Korean Studies is an integrated portal service of 9 electronic databases that provides Korean resources in all academic disciplines, including arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, legal information, etc. Of special interest to many will be the inclusion of North Korean science and technology journals.
History Culture Series
History Culture Series is a multi-media content database dedicated to Korean history and culture. Developed for school use by professors, researchers, and museum curators, History Culture Series allows users to store and download text and photos easily and quickly for use in the classroom.
Korean Studies Information Service System
A full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles by over 300,000 authors, covering all subject areas.
Korean History & Culture Research
Provides access to excavation reports and reports about cultural relics published in Korea since the 1940s.

KSI e-Book This link opens in a new window
KSI e-books is a full-text database of almost 9,000 e-books on philosophy, religion, social science, natural science, engineering, arts, linguistics, literature, and history

Articles, Primary Sources, Dissertations

The following databases include academic journal articles and thesis and dissertations. If full text is not readily accessible from these databases, please contact the East Asian Gateway Services for help.

DBPia --Smart Academic Knowledge System
DBpia is a full text database of academic periodicals published by major Korean academic societies and research institutes. It includes over 1.1 million articles from 1,316 journals in the fields of humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business.
KRPia
KRpia is a knowledge content resource containing 171 digital workts categorized under 10 subjects. It provides broad coverage of primary resources on Korean Studies, presenting a rich variety of historical and contemporary research content about Korea from the perspective of various disciplines.
RISS
Contains about 1 million Korean dissertations and theses. Users may search and obtain citations and abstracts.

News Archives

Naver News Library
Full-text Korean newspaper article database including the following four major newspapers:

東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo 1920-1999
京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun 1946-1999
每日經濟新聞 = Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
한겨레 = The Hankyoreh 1988-1999

Liaison Librarian

Hiroyuki Good

Email Me

Contact:

East Asian Library
421 Hillman Library 4th Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15260

(412)648-8187

Subjects: East Asian Studies, Japanese Studies

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Korean Studies Databases: Home