It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides over 400 new or improved terms, and is an exhaustive guide to the key terms used in psychological testing, assessment and measurement. Over 3000 definitions of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies.
Available in print and online
Educational Measurement by Robert L. Brennan
Call Number: Hillman Library General Collection LB3051 .E266 2006
This volume provides in-depth treatment of topics like test fairness, scaling and norming, and performance assessment. Each chapter includes an extensive bibliography in addition to sample questions from the tests under consideration.
These two volumes contain a series of 234 entries organized alphabetically, covering a variety of fields: theoretical, epistemological, methodological, technological, basic psychological constructs (personality and intelligence), and applied. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices and a list of references, along with a list of cross-references for entries and related concepts.
Available in print and online
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods, a three-volume resource that is a first of its kind, developed by the leading publisher of social science research methods books and journals. This unique multi-volume reference set offers readers an all-encompassing education in the ways of social science researchers.
Available in print and online
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods (three volumes) presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative methods in a non-intimidating and accessible style.
Available in print and onlne
Volume 1 addresses the definition of educational psychology, some of the most critical theories driving research and practice today, broad areas of research that educational psychology has addressed based on multiple theories and that make an important contribution to the field, and emerging and cutting-edge issues.
Volume 3 focuses on specific applications of research in educational psychology for assessment and decision making, teaching skills and content, promoting learning, and teacher preparation as well as across the life span and with special populations.
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Personality Assessment by Michel Hersen; Mark J. Hilsenroth; Daniel L. Segal
Call Number: Hillman Library General Collection BF176 .C654 2004
This four-volume set presents essential information on the four major classes of psychological assessment instruments, including intelligence/neuropsychological, personality (both objective and projective), behavioral, and industrial/organizational. Each volume contains information on the history of the specific branch of testing, the range of tests, theoretical considerations, psychometric concerns, range of populations, cross-cultural factors, use with people with disabilities, legal/ethical considerations, computerization, and future development.
Handbook of Multicultural Assessment by Lisa A. Suzuki (Editor); Joseph G. Ponterotto (Editor)
Handbook of Multicultural Assessment offers the most comprehensive text on testing of racial and ethnic minorities in the United States. This thoroughly revised and updated edition includes the most current and state-of-the-art assessment information in a variety of psychological and educational domains. The book highlights new and innovative testing practices and expands the populations of interest to include recent immigrants and refugees. It also includes ways to overcome barriers in the assessment process as well as forensic assessment. This important resource offers an instructional text for conducting culturally competent psychological assessment for clinicians, educators, and researchers.
Call Number: Hillman Library General Collection BF722.H33 2003
Leading clinical scientists summarize the state of the science of assessment paradigms, instruments, and methods. With an emphasis on practical clinical considerations, chapters also delve into issues related to test development, psychometrics, and bias. Intelligence, Aptitude, and Achievement surveys assessment of intelligence, learning styles, and academic achievement; covers historical issues and psychometric methods; and addresses diversity issues, ethical concerns, and special topics in mental testing.
Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children: Personality, Behavior, and Content by Cecil R. Reynolds; Randy W. Kamphaus
Call Number: Hillman Library General Collection BF722 .H33 2003b
This is a summarization of the science of assessment paradigms, instruments, and methods. With an emphasis on practical clinical considerations, chapters also delve into issues related to test development, psychometrics, and bias.
The Handbook of Psychological Testing by Paul Kline
Call Number: Hillman Library General Collection BF176 .K575 2000
The standard text for organisational and educational psychologists. It covers psychometric theory, the different kinds of psychological tests, applied psychological testing, and the evaluation of the best published psychological tests.
This two volume title addresses both theoretical and practical areas of educational evaluation; provides up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of core concepts, methods, and areas of application; brings together a large group of notable authors presenting diverse national contexts; and presents in-depth treatment of core concepts and best ideas on how to design and conduct sound evaluations in education.
Available in print or online