Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
Databases for Identifying Tests
Educational Testing Service (formerly ERIC/AE Test Locator)
The Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection database contains records on over 9,500 tests and research instruments. The Test Collection database collects a variety of instruments: achievement tests, aptitude tests, personality measures, attitude measures, career/vocational interest measures, occupational tests such as nursing or sales skills inventories. Also included are separate databases of test publishers and test reviews.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EBSCO
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education and Current Index. The database also includes the full text of ERIC Digest Records. Ebsco and CSA are subscription services that offer sophisticated interfaces. The third option is to search the database via the government's web portal.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
With more than 2.3 million entries, PQDT is the database of record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Over 60,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, etc) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of all document types, including journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. The database is international in scope.
Print Resources for Identifying Tests
Tests in Print Series by
Call Number: Hillman Library 1st Floor Reference Collection Z5814 E9T47
A comprehensive bibliography to all English language commercially available tests in print. It also guides users to critical and candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook.
The ETS Test Collection Catalog by
Call Number: LB3051 E79 1992 - ULS Storage
Contains descriptions for over 10,000 tests and research instruments, including information about test availability. Searching for these tests and descriptions is provided through the ERIC database.
Tests in Microfiche: Annotated Index by
Call Number: Microforms Collection LB3051 T45
These are the unpublished tests described in the ETS Test Collection Catalog, current up to 2004.
ProQuest has designed a LibGuide on how to use the PsycINFO database. It contains some useful information, along with search tips and examples, sample searches, screencasts, and training videos to help you get the most out of your search experience.