Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course & Subject Guides
These databases provide articles about philanthrophy, foundations and nonprofit organizations. They tend to focus on their domestic activites. The Catalog of Nonprofit Literature and the Philanthropy Studies Index are the best databases to start with.
Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
The Foundation Center's database of philanthropy literature containing over 28,000 citations (65% with abstracts) is updated daily. Beginning in 2001 links to selected full-text journal articles began being added in collaboration with the Indiana University Center on Philanthropy. Topics include philanthropy, foundations, the nonprofit sector, voluntarism, government policies and funding, as well as theory and philosophy.
Philanthropic Studies Index (PSI)
Philanthropic Studies Index (PSI) is a tool (developed by IUPUI, the Indiana University - Purdue University at Indianapolis) to locate information on voluntarism, nonprofit organizations, fundraising, and charitable giving. Most citations indexed are from academic journals, dated 1940 to the present. Since November of 2003, dissertations, working papers, and web sites are being added to the database.
The databases below are more general in focus but also cover philanthropy and nonprofit organizations.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues from 1915 to date. Use the advanced search to narrow search beyond "philanthropy" "foundation" "humanitarian,"or "nonprofit". Choose either "Current" (1972- to present) or "Archive" for historical information.
PolicyFile (Public Policy)
Search via the organizations list, or the subjects list to narrow the area or field in which you are researching organizations.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Search academic journals, trade journals and newspapers. Be sure to combine the term "foundation" or "nonprofit" with other search terms, because this is a general academic database.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
This definitive scholarly business database (with citations back to 1886) covers all aspects of business and management - from economics and finance to accounting and human resources. Includes Datamonitor reports, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. when searching fpr academic business and management literature be sure to specify the term "foundation" or "nonprofit" in your search.
Includes articles on accountability, sociology, intergovernmental relations, public service, compensation information. JSTOR is a multidisciplinary online archive of academic journals in all fields, which generally become available here 3-5 years after publication. Articles may have an economic, political, or historical focus.
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)
Indexes over 360 military and security publications, covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs [most have full text]. Key subjects include socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.Try searching using terms such as "nongovernmental organizations" or "NGO," or "humanitarian" in addition to "foundation" or "nonprofit."
EBSCO's comprehensive sociology database with abstracts back to 1985 from 600 core soc journals, as well as of articles from other scholarly journals, monographs, and conference papers.
Pitt Databases with International Focus
Another database for foreign country news and up-to-date information. Try searching similar terms as in CIAO. The Country Reviews section provides a political and economic survey/profile.
Search international newspaper coverage. Foreign and domestic newspapers provide coverage from or about the country or city being studied; also provides US TV news and NPR transcripts.
Contains over 553,000 entries from 120 countries. Choose either "Current" or "Archive" for historical information. Use the advanced search tab and narrow search using terms such as "nonprofit," "humanitarian," or "philanthropy."
These journals provide articles about philanthrophy, foundations and nonprofit organizations. Most of these journals are available electronically, on campus, or at The Pittsburgh Foundation Center in the Carnegie Library. Try searching terms such as "nongovernmental organizations" or "NGO," or "humanitarian" in addition to "foundation" or "nonprofit."