Guides: Literature Reviews: Databases

How do I Find Databases and Articles . .

If you're seeking articles on a topic, search an Article Database. Databases are collections of citations and articles that you can search by topic or subject. To search a database, select the Collections tab on the ULS homepage, and select A-Z Databases:

If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the A-Z Databases list.
If you're not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by chatting online at Ask-Us.

Medical & Psychological Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL database covers nearly 1000 English-language nursing and allied health journals. It also includes references to book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisual materials, software, dissertations, standards of professional practice and nurse practice acts.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. This database includes the Clinical Pharmacology database, providing access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides indexing coverage of all document types, including journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. The database is international in scope.

Science Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.

News & Current Events Databases . .

These databases are excellent starting points for your research because they have something on every subject:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books. CredoReference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher, founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, is your complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. The objective, forward-looking reporting that characterizes these articles is designed to encourage discussion, to help readers think critically and to facilitate further research. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Other Suggested Databases

You can find lots of article databases at our Databases by Subject page. Here are a few you can start with:

Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC database covers the study of communication, mass media and related subjects.
ERIC
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier national bibliographic database of education literature.
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more.
GreenFile
Covers all aspects of the human impact on the environment including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Policy File
PolicyFile covers all public policy issues on everything from trade with Asia to health care reform, from terrorism to intelligence reform, from Bosnia to Superfund.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts database is an index to articles and documents covering all aspects of social work and related fields.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts of the literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Business Databases

Try these business sources, plus others on on the Business Databases list.

Reference Resources

These resources can help you with background information, as well as the resources at our Reference Resources page

Encyclopedia of Associations

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.

Reference Universe

Statistical Databases

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. [Formerly titled: Academic Lexis-Nexis]
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Presents mainly US census data for the nation as a whole, such as immigration statistics by country of origin or mortality rates by disease, ranging back to the 1800s.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Literature Reviews