Guides: Pitt and Community Assistance Resources: Housing Assistance

Free stock photo of hands, people, ground, group This guide is provided by the University Library System in partnership with members of the Campus Basic Needs Committee and is intended to provided links to resources and options for services to explore. We do not provide medical or legal support. Please note that these links do not imply endorsement and are provided for informational purposes only.

For immediate or emergency assistance:

In a life-threatening emergency, call 911 immediately.
In a crisis situation, at any time of the day or night, you can reach a trained professional through the University Counseling Center’s 24/7 hotline (412-648-7930 ) or through the resolve Crisis Services (1-888-796-8226).
In addition, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline provides support 24/7 by calling 1-800-273-8255. (TTY - Dial 800-799-4889; Voice/Caption Phone - Dial 800-273-8255)

Pittsburgh Housing Resources

Allegheny County Emergency Shelters
A list of shelters inclusive of all gender identities, transgender, and non-binary from the Allegheny County Department of Human Services.

Bigburgh
Services that can help the homeless (or those at risk of being homeless) in the City of Pittsburgh.
Rent Help in Pittsburgh
Provides a list of agencies available to assist with housing and rent
Bethlehem Haven Women’s Shelter
Provides housing shelter to women in need
Community Human Services Housing
Provides housing assistance to those in need of stable housing
Homeless Shelter Directory
Provides a list of shelters to contact by zip code
Off the Floor Pittsburgh
Provides furniture to those who cannot afford it or who have lost theirs
Utility Assistance
Provides utility assistance options for those who need help paying bills
Craigslist Housing Page
Webpage where individuals post available housing
PA Housing Search
Free service to list and find affordable homes and apartments
ACTIONHousing –Weatherization Assistance Program
Provides free weatherization services to qualifying individuals
Pittsburgh Community Services, Inc.
Provides a multitude of services including housing, employment, case management, and hunger services
Allegheny Link
Call Allegheny Link if you are experiencing or are at risk of experiencing homelessness for access to resources -- and potentially a referral to the Urban League of Greater Pittsburgh's Rental Assistance program
Off Campus Living (University of Pittsburgh)
Provides guides to renting apartments off campus
The Blessing Board
Provides furniture to those in need
Urban League of Greater Pittsburgh Rental Assistance
Rental assistance, security deposit assistance (need referral from Allegheny Link)
PA 211 Housing
Includes affordable housing, shelter, and overcoming homelessness links
The Salvation Army Family Caring Center
Family programs and housing assistance

Facebook Group

Housing and Roommates Facebook Group
Group where mostly students post a need for or availability of roommates, sublets, or housing

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Pitt and Community Assistance Resources

Pittsburgh Housing Resources

Facebook Group