Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course & Subject Guides

Resources for Community Entrepreneurs

Collection of free and subscription resources available to Pennsylvania residents.

Finding Industry Reports, News & Data

Industry reports, available in databases, print resources, and websites, contain valuable analysis of an industry's operating conditions, driving forces, competitive landscapes, and more.

 

Search tips:

  • Identify your industry. In order to perform more efficient research, you'll want a clearly defined industry to start with.
  • Try related terms for keyword searches, like "apparel" vs. "clothing." Databases may have different terms for the same or similar industry.
  • Try multiple databases. Each covers different industries, with some overlap.
  • Industry code designations, like NAICS or SIC codes, can be helpful in searching databases. Use the census website to find your industry code.
  • Use trade or professional associations as they often produce and publish helpful reports and data.

Government Databases

Commercial Databases and Resources

Pitt-owned resources are only available in-person at the Hillman Library or Homewood CEC or by appointment via the Business Research Clinic for non-Pitt entrepreneurs. Users can obtain a guest pass at the Hillman Library Ground Floor Services for walk-in access to business resources. For more information, please contact lmw129@pitt.edu

Industry Reports

Industry News

Carnegie Library resources require a library card. Click here for more information.

Industry Reports

Industry News