The Hanley Library invites the campus community to visit the Bradford Area Public Library. Library cards are available with a photo identity or a Pitt-Bradford identity card and a Pitt-Bradford campus address.
In 2022, Hanley Library will feature titles from the True Colors in American History Collection that represent the diverse experiences of the populations celebrated during heritage months that connect with the True Colors Collection. The titles in this collection cover the topics connected to and represent the diverse experiences of Black people and African Americans, women, Indigenous people, Latina/o/x people, and Asian Americans.
Former Director Hannah Dewey explained The True Colors of American History Collection includes over 170 items based upon the library and YWCA's belief that American libraries should reflect a more accurate accounting of the enormous impact that African Americans and Black, Indigenous, Latino/a/x, and Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders have had on the advancement and identity of America. The entire True Colors Collection is located near the circulation desk of the Bradford Area Public Library.
During Black History Month, the Bradford Public Library spotlights items within the True Colors Collection that focus on Black and African American heritage, such as those that celebrate African Americans in art and culture:
A Choice of Weapons: Gordon Parks, HBO Film by G. Parks
African American Musicians That Changed Music Forever by M. & M. Carson
Basquiat: Graphic Novel by J. Voloj
Contact High: A Visual History of Hip-Hop by V. Tobak
Dance We Do: A Poet Explores Black Dance by N. Shange
Duke Ellington: The Piano Prince, a picture book by A. Pinkney
Glory: Magical Visions of Black Beauty, featured in the display case in the Campus Commons
More Myself: A Journey by A. Keyes
Plain text poster available here
During Women's History Month, the Bradford Public Library spotlights items within the True Colors Collection that represent the diverse experiences of Black and African American, Indigenous, Latina, and Asian American and Pacific Islander women.
Augusta Savage: Renaissance Woman by Jeffreen M. Hayes
Black Women in Science: A Black History Book for Kids by Dr. Kimberly Brown Pellum
Brave, Black, First: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World by C.W. Hudson
Finish the Fight! The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote, young adult illustrated nonfiction by Veronica Chambers
Luchita Hurtado: I Live, I Die, I Will be Reborn by Andrea Bowers
Native Women ChangingTheir Worlds by Patricia J. Cutright
She's Got This, a picture book by Laurie Hernandez and illustrated by Nina Mata
The Opposite of Fate by Amy Tan
Plain text poster available here
During Asian-American Pacific Islander Heritage Month, the Bradford Public Library spotlights items within the True Colors Collection that represent the diverse experiences of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.
Asian-Americans Who Inspire Us by Analiza Quiroz Wolf
Eat a Peach: A Memoir by David Chang
Heart of Fire: An Immigrant Daughter's Story by Mazie K. Hirono
Love, Loss, and What We Ate: A Memoir by Padma Lakshmi
Strangers from a Different Shore: A History of Asian Americans by Ronald Takaki
Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir by Kat Chow
The Astronaut with a Song for the Stars: The Story of Dr. Ellen Ochoa, a picture book by Julia Finley Mosca
The Truths We Hold: An American Journey by Kamala Harris
Plain text poster available here
Bradford Area Public Library partners with YWCA Bradford to introduce a new collection: “True Colors in American History.” During Latinx and Hispanic Heritage Month, the Bradford Public Library spotlights items within the collection that represent their diverse experiences.
The Hanley Library invites the campus community to visit the Bradford Public Library to see the entire collection. Library cards are available with a photo identity or a Pitt-Bradford identity card and a Pitt-Bradford campus address.
Plain text poster available here
Bradford Area Public Library partners with YWCA Bradford to introduce a new collection: “True Colors in American History.” During Indigenous and Native American Heritage Month, the Bradford Public Library spotlights items within the collection that represent the diverse experiences of Native and Indigenous People.
Black Elk's Vision: A Lakota Story, S.D. Nelson
Code Talker, a memoir by Chester Nez
Crazy Brave: A Memoir, Joy Harjo
House Made of Dawn, N. Scott Momaday
We Had a Little Estate Problem: The Unheralded Story of Native Americans & Comedy, Kliph Nesteroff
We Shall Remain: America Through Native Eyes, a PBS Series on DVD
Who Was a Maria Tallchief? A young adult biography by Catherine Gourley
We Are Still Here: Native American Truths Everyone Should Know, a picture book by Traci Sorell, Cherokee Nation citizen
Mission to Space, a picture book by Chickasaw astronaut, John Herrington
The Hanley Library invites the campus community to visit the Bradford Public Library to see the entire collection. Library cards are available with a photo identity or a Pitt-Bradford identity card and a Pitt-Bradford campus address.
Bradford Area Public Library Information
Bradford Area Public Library
Mon-Thurs 10:00am – 6:00pm
Fri- Sat 10:00am – 5:00pm
67 W. Washington St.
Bradford, PA 16701
1 (814) 362-6527
Website: https://www.bradfordlibrary.org/
